Again, Hump Day, I wish you were Friday.

Standard

So I’ve been trying a new schedule the last almost week. It has been amazing for my productivity. But it has sucked royally for my workout plans and has been amazing at sapping my energy.So it’s February 1, and I’m close to where I was on January 1, and that’s not where I want to be.

What has also happened with this schedule experiment is that I’ve been so exhausted that a) meltdowns are easier at night; b) I really just want a whole bunch of wine to unwind; c) I can’t muster the energy to cook, so unless I get a burst of energy or start cooking at 3:30, it doesn’t happen.

So I had been trying to go to bed a bit earlier, like 9-9:30 and get up at 5 am. At first it was awesome! I’d get in about an hour of work, which has been putting me a head of the game. But then here’s what happens. I work then non-stop (except for about 45 minutes to shower, eat, get to school) and then I just go blazing through until about 2 pm. Which means that by 2 I’ve had essentially an 8 hour work day. I come home, chug some water, say hi to the husband, and then I crash. Since I’ve had a little bit of grading to do, then maybe I might rest for an hour and then grade for another hour. By the time we watch Jeopardy (we’ve been watching Jeopardy together like a little old married couple), I can’t even stand. That’s on MWF. On TR, since they are short days, I either try to ride the wave of work when I get home, or I crash and nap. When I do that, that means that everything I should have done while I was napping doesn’t get done, like groceries or WF prep. By the time that’s done, I’m exhausted again.

Needless to say, where I had been working out in the afternoon, trying to get work done in the morning to make sure I had time in the afternoon seems to be counterproductive here.

What was I doing before that was working for my workouts? Going to bed between 9-10 and sleeping until 6. Lately it seems that even if I get 8 hours between 9-5am, I don’t feel as rested as the 10-6 am sleep cycle. While I used to be a total morning person and early bird, I found out two summers ago that 11-7 seemed to be my ideal–if I went to bed at 11, I could wake up at 7 am naturally, every morning without and alarm. It’s weird to me though that that’s now the case. I used to get up at 4:45 am no problem. Now, even after 8 hours of sleep I don’t feel rested.

So, we are going to go back to that plan. This means then that one of two things has to happen. I put in an extra hour of work at night after I get in from my workout and have the J cook on MW nights (we had started to do that before) and/or I put in some extra work on the weekend mornings to get caught up/get ahead. Because these few days that I’ve not been able to work out have just started this downward spiral again. It’s like 4 steps up, 3.5 steps down. Maybe I should give the WW just one more try? For a month? See if I can get past 140. Really try?  Get me to a semi-solid place before the start of the next quarter?

I woke up with a terrible stomach ache this morning (seriously? could I have managed to put more gluten and dairy in my system as I did last night I have no idea if that would have been possible, but this is what happens when there are meltdowns, which seem to be happening on Monday nights right now but this week it’s been a double shot), but I feel rested. I feel gross, but at least I’m not exhausted. A bit tired, but not like I had to drag myself out of bed. I even made it up before the alarm. And honestly, it would be nice to be finishing up the power point thing for the 12:30 class right about now, but what does it matter if it’s finished now or at 10:30, 2 hours before class? I guess it matters if it means I’m not zapped by 2:00. During my office hours today I have to finish the p.p. and read the short story that I’m teaching tomorrow, and if there’s time, I’ll start reading the one for Monday. Ideally, I’d like to spend Friday’s office hours just grading the lit classes’ papers so I can focus on the theory class’s stuff this weekend. For Friday’s class a student talked me into baking them cookies, which i’m not going to bake, but that the J is going to bake. But it works out well because we’re doing gender and queer theory right now, and we’re going to watch this on Friday (which I know is just such a clearly obvious movie for the chapter we’re doing, but for an introductory class, I don’t think that obvious is bad per se, and I think the movie makes important points about what girls and boys are supposed to be like in a funny and endearing way), so I think having the husband bake my class cookies is a nice way to break some gender rules. Plus, I think I’d like to propose an entire class on gender/queer theory. I think many of the students in this particular class would be interested in it. But that’s neither here nor there at the moment. I’m just glad to have a day off from the 8 am class on Friday. I can’t wait for it to be the end of the quarter. I’m not entirely jazzed about starting all over again in five weeks, but oh well.

Leave a Reply

