Standard

I’m a bit down this morning. Actually, I’m sure it has everything to do with the headache I have from the wine last night. I’m not hungover, but Malbecs give me headaches. This particular Malbec is a good one that doesn’t normally give me a headache though, so I think I went in to the wine a bit dehydrated after my workout yesterday. And the one thing that I really did indulge in throughout the entire holiday season (from THanksgiving to now) is wine. And now that we’re down to the “good” bottles, I’m going to save them.

One of the “resolutions” to help with the health and fitness, is for the next month, I limit my wine to the weekends. This is not just about losing weight right now (although seriously, it would be much easier if I cut back on those extra 300-900 wine calories a night), but about being able to get up at the butt ass crack of dawn to workout. Because the weight training needs to be done in the a.m. I already get up at the crack of dawn. That’s not a problem. But getting up without having wine in me from the night before makes or breaks my ability to get up and workout. And the J is more likely to run with me rather than do the actual weight work, so I prefer to do that while he’s sleeping. I’ve started a new thing. I’ll let you know how it goes in three weeks at the end of the “first phase.” Of course we still have marathon training on top of all of this, and I can already tell that the stuff I’m doing with the weight training is going to help my running and will go a long way in helping me prevent injury here, too, without over training. I want to spring out of bed in the morning for these workouts.

But still I’m down today. I think it’s because I must return to the grindstone, although I don’t have to teach until Wednesday (such a short freaking break!), I still must do some work today. Actually, I must do a lot of work today. And since my colleague hasn’t been hounding me about the abstract for our panel we’re submitting soon, I’m assuming he’s not done any work on his either. But that needs to be done soon. Very soon. Like I’d like to have that bad boy drafted at least by tomorrow night.

I guess what this really boils down to is that I have a ton of work to do over the next two days and I have an equally large amount of work to do this weekend. Perhaps knowing what’s in front of me is why I’m down. And I have tests, still, from before break that need to be graded. I guess I’ll do those tomorrow. I’m pretty sure I brought them home with me. But I’m not interested in thinking about those just yet. They are abysmal thus far. Sigh. I’m looking forward to the reading that I have to do, but man, I am missing semester schedules right about now. Although I know I won’t be when the quarter is over. And I’m still trying to figure out what kind of schedule I like. Anyway, this seems like a bunch of complaining.

Maybe that should be a resolution, too–not to complain as much.

And I think I need to make better choices, set better goals, be more organized, try harder, do better.

And perhaps that’s all I have to say today.

Leave a Reply

