Light Blogging

Standard

Well, in the past 10 days or so, the J and I have managed to go to Fancy Town, start packing up (having accomplished nowhere near what I had hoped to accomplish which is a giant source of stress and anxiety, but I won’t get into that now), tell my boss about the new job, see some friends, go to the parents’ house, run a race there, see the fam, come back to Home City, and then get the flu. Yup, this is the first time I’ve been out of bed since Wednesday night. It was a horrible, painful flu, but I slept through the night finally last night and was up at the crack of dawn with the J as he got ready for drill, so I will probably be heading back to bed for a nap here before too long. Apparently I am stressed and exhausted and my body just screamed, “enough!” So that’s two weeks of work that I have lost now with the traveling and the sickness, and I still have to go to new state to look for a place to live sometime in the next week or so. And since thankfully the J has gotten some work, although the timing is bad, it looks like I’ll be doing it on my own. Sigh. I have no idea how this book chapter will get done by August 5th. Seriously. And there’s no leeway whatsoever on the deadline. None. I’m afraid that what’s going to be submitted will be little more than a glorified seminar paper resulting in my total embarrassment. Sigh.

While we were gone, too, the county came by and put a big sign in our yard saying that the house was going to be auctioned off in August for failure to pay taxes. Um no. The county has made a huge mistake (the lot in question was merged with our lot before we bought the house, and all taxes are paid in full and to date–we have the records to prove it), and the J needs to get this taken care of soon, and even though the county is at fault and apparently run by a bunch of fucktard morons, I’m sure this in no small way contributed to my getting the flu out of the blue in the middle of summer right when I have a shit ton of other things to worry about. I have seriously never been so sick in my whole life, at least not that I can remember. Every inch of my body, no lie, from my hair to the sides of my feet hurt. My gums were almost white. Yup. I’ve never had that happen before either. At least not to my knowledge. I have never been in so much pain in my whole life.

So today I have to go to the post office and mail my official contract and all that jazz, a transcript request, some new bank stuff, and I don’t know what else. I’m sure there’s something. And then I think I’m getting a mani/pedi. Nothing soothes an aching body better than that. To just sit in that massage chair for 45 minutes might be worth it just for that.

Anyway, all of this is to say that given the mess of stuff that I need to do in the next 3.5 weeks, blogging might be light around these part. I was thinking of just taking the summer off, but I know as soon as I say that, the next day I’ll have three posts in one day. I’ll be here and there, but I think for the most part I might be out of touch until I actually finish this book chapter and get moved and settled in. I’m so tired and so stressed. I think I’m going to go back to bed now.

Take care all. I’ll see you soon.

3 responses »

  1. Get well soon, and I hope you don’t drop the blogging entirely cause I like to hear about all the craziness and moving about the country!

Leave a Reply

