Better.

Standard

I am feeling a little bit better today. A good run yesterday in the afternoon heat, which while I don’t always like to run in the afternoon heat, sometimes I find it oddly refreshing because I feel like I’ve purged a bunch of junk out of my system with the intense sweating. I actually made a real dinner for the first time since I’ve been back to Home City. It was delicious. I left all of my cookbooks in Fancy Town by accident (there were two that I meant to bring with me that I use all the time), so I bought this on Monday, and so far, the one thing I’ve cooked–delicious. Although I substituted chicken for salmon because, and it’s one of the few things I am less than happy with about Home City, is that one must really go out of her way to get fresh fish. And the recipe worked with chicken. Of course looking at the price on amazon, I see that I could have saved $10. I know better than to buy stuff like that at the store. Maybe I should buy it from Amazon and return the other one? Oh well.

So dinner was good. I needed that. Turns out my grocery store in Home City has some NOLA brew, so I was most excited to see that on my grocery shopping excursion yesterday.

I think the Divine Miss T may have a bladder infection. In fact, I’m sure of it. So I’ve got to go back to the vet today. Poor baby. At least she got it here rather than Fancy Town. Seriously. We’re looking at the difference between a $50 visit here, meds and tests included, and about $300 in Fancy Town with a military discount. So if the baby girl is going to get sick, let her get sick here. Poor little baby kins. 😦 I’m trying really hard not to freak out about it, but I know she’ll be fine.

I’m also kinda bummed, too, that given our financial situation my plans to join the summer boot camp class and the Krav Maga center are now dead. 😦 That really blows. I was very much looking forward to it, but it would be foolish (although good physically) for me to spend our money on that. It’s not like I can’t work out here or run outside on my own. I have a race on Saturday.

Today I have some phone calls to make. I now have to take the mutt to the vet. I’ve got to run. I’ve got to read. I’ve got to write.

A lot of the things that were bothering me yesterday are still very much on my mind today; however, I have gotten two good nights of sleep in a row. I think the run yesterday helped, too. I’ve got to make a decision about this morning. I think I should walk the mutts and then go for my run and then call the vet. Of course that means it will be noon before I start to read or write. However, it also means that all the crap of the day (or rather some of the crap of the day) gets taken care of this morning (not that my dog is crap–it’s a crappy errand to have to run; I don’t want my baby girl to be sick), the exercise is out of the way, and then I can read and write this afternoon. Oooh, I have to go to the post office today or tomorrow, too. Is today Wednesday? Yikes. That holiday threw me off. Anyway, there are four imperative things to get done today–vet, run, read, write. I’m going to limit myself to 15-30 minutes of writing per day for the next week. Then I will increase it to 30-45 minutes a shot for the following week. What I’m trying to do is get myself into the habit of writing near daily so that way I don’t completely self-sabotage when it comes time to write these articles that are due this summer. Ideally, I’d like to get to a point where my schedule looks something like this:

  1. Run nearly first thing in a.m. while it’s somewhat cool and before I have a chance to chicken out.
  2. Read for about 2-3 hours.
  3. Write for 15-45 minutes.
  4. Read for another 2-3 hours.
  5. Write for another 15-45 minutes.
Now, I feel like I will have to do more than 4-6 hours of reading a day eventually in order to get done what I need to get done. And I think this is what it should look like for at least M-F, especially if the J is actually working a day job. Then I think the Saturday morning should look like the first half, and then Sundays off. It seems like overkill perhaps, but I am the kind of person who needs to have a *daily* schedule that’s full but not packed in order to stick to it. For now through next Wednesday, this is what my schedule will look like:
  1. Run in a.m.
  2. Read for 2-3 hours.
  3. Write for 15-30 minutes.
  4. Take care of daily errands.
  5. If time, read for another hour or two before dinner.
  6. Write for another 15-30 minutes before dinner.
If I don’t have a schedule or a pattern, then nothing gets done in a timely manner. So that’s the goal for the week. I’ll re-evaluate next Wednesday to see what I’ve accomplished. And you know me, I love to make a plan and have a plan in place. We’ll see how that works.And honestly, I think for this to work, the morning run is key. I love summer, even when it’s chock full of all the crap that I need to do. I need to move to Miami where it summer almost all of the time.
And now, the mutts need their morning walk.
4 responses »

  1. Yep, I need schedules too. And my schedule will be almost the same as yours!

    Here’s to both of us having a very happy productive summer.

    PS NOLA has local beer?

Leave a Reply

