Grumpalicious.

Standard

Oh.my.god! I’m so freaking grouchy this morning. It’s unbelievable. I’m so grumpy that I cannot concentrate on a damn thing at.all. It fucking sucks. I slept well, so I don’t know if I didn’t get enough sleep, if I’m tired of the semester and I just want it to be over and have the hot weather here, if I’m just frustrated in general, if it’s my allergies (my eyes this morning–looked like I got punched they were that swollen), or if it’s d) all of the above. I’m going to go with all of the above, a general malaise and pissiness. Well, while I do still like the idea of the two day schedule, I’m NEVER doing it this early again. I *need* to be able to workout on Monday mornings when I feel like this, and the schedule makes it impossible. It sucks. Yes, there are only three weeks left so I need to let it go, but shit, that’s a long three weeks. I think what’s going to have to happen for finals week is that the J and I take separate cars. I’m going to need to be able to get to the gym that last week. I usually change my office hours for finals week anyway, so that may be the only thing that saves my sanity that last week.

At least I will say that I got some emails taken care of–a couple of piddly admin type things, but damn yo, I’m seriously like one bad day away from starting to put brandy in my coffee in the mornings. The sad thing is it’s not like anything is terrible. Just mounds of frustration and anxiety, and end of semester stress. Fortunately my writing classes are writing in class for the next week and turning stuff in the following week, so I have no prep for two classes for the rest of the semester. When the papers start coming in, that’s another can of stress worms, but they’re at least final drafts, I’ll use a rubric, it’ll go faster than rough drafts. I’m suspicious of two students who may plagiarize given past behaviors thus far this semester, so I’ll save their essays until last so it doesn’t slow me down.

Well, I feel better for getting that off my chest. Now I’ll go do a couple more piddly admin stuff things to do and then try to get ahead in the one class I have to prep for the next two weeks. Sigh. I wish I could go home, bury my head under the pillow, and hide and sleep all day. And it’s a shame because it’s a beautiful day today, too. Grrrrrr.

ETA: I think I must have known this was floating around because I’m super behind in my blog reading, but before I even clicked on my reader, I was thinking that what I must be feeling is “burn out.” And lo and behold, everyone else is talking about it, too.

One response »

  1. Dude. It’s snowing here, girlfriend. Wanna talk about lack of motivation? That’s me. Today’s my research day and all I’ve done is spent the morning looking at Montessori stuff and ordering on Amazon. Good things, yes, but not going to get the damn article written.

Leave a Reply

