Lots of Stuff

Standard

Well, I don’t like that I have a Cisco ad as part of the new layout; however, I love the coloring, and I needed something green for spring. Like seriously *needed* it.

So last week was spring break. In many ways it was wonderful. As  I mentioned, it was exhausting seeing family, but it was nice. The drive back was looooooooooong. Actually, I’m still pretty wiped out by it. I am almost caught up on my sleep though. Almost. I have a mat in my office now, and I feel like a preschooler, but I totally have a mat in order for me to lay down in my office under my desk, a la George Costanza, with my alarm on my phone set, and take a nap before class. It’s true. And I’m not ashamed. Yesterday though was the worst. It finally all hit. I had to reschedule a meeting with my boss (I didn’t want to, but the thought of leaving the house literally had me in tears I felt so bad yesterday–yesterday was a non-teaching day, too, and it would have been a whole lot of effort for a sick person for a 20-30 minute meeting), but the good thing was that I was not sick enough not to do anything. It was the right balance of not feeling well. Sick enough not to leave the house, but well enough to lay on the couch and read all day. And what am I going to do today? Let the housework suffer and read some more (although I will do the dishes).

OK, the point of this post was not about how tired I am after spring break and how excited I am that there are only 6 weeks left of school. I’m obnoxiously giddy about that, with the exception that it means I only have six weeks to finish a couple of big things, but that kind of brings me to the point of my post. I did a poor job with my "research plan" thus far this semester. Once I figured out that what I had set for my days and times to devote to nothing but research weren’t going to work for my schedule, I never truly re-evaluated the situation nor did I formulate a new plan, nor have I actually done a damn thing since day 1. And here I am with six weeks left in the semester–crunch time for my admin position, and the gigantic gen ed assessment for the state is due at the end of the semester which means for me that I have to do a program review and assessment as part of my admin position in the next six weeks as well. I can’t say for sure that I’m really looking forward to having to do that. Now I have adjunct observations to do as well, so a lot of my free time is no longer mine for the next five weeks. Though there is a lull in the next couple of weeks as so far my adjuncts are scheduling their observations for the second week of April. Fine by me.

Here are the bigger issues. 1. I have a conference paper due at the end of May which needs to be done by the beginning of May for the faculty retreat I agreed to go to and promised I would especially since I couldn’t go last year (plus my collegiality in this respect will go a long way toward helping me earn tenure from what I understand–plus it’s free with an open bar and this year we’re having dinner one night in a castle, and from what I hear, they really are lots of fun–one of the nice things about my college). 2. An article due in July, but I’d like it to be done by June so I can send it to the editor for him to look at and make suggestions before the final submission (editor has agreed to this already). This is the more minor of the pubs, still a *big* deal for me. 3. Book chapter due beginning of August, which I’d like to have done by July so that I can send to editor (same person actually) who has graciously agreed to look it over before the final submit to the publisher (who will then send it all to the editor I guess again), but as we are hoping to at least think about making some additions to our lives, I’d like to have the bulk of any revisions done on the front end. It helps that I’ve known the person for over 13 years. So really, a shit ton of stuff by July and then the hopes of spending August prepping for the semester. I’m hoping to have a busy yet productive summer.

However, there are a couple of catches. One, some of this is contingent on the J getting employment over the summer. I mean, my stuff needs to get done, but I know I will be able to get more done with less stress if I’m not worrying about $. We’re hoping he gets this one summer job in Home City which, while I’m not trying to count my chickens before they hatch, if he did, we could take care of a couple of things on the house in Home City, AND, most importantly, it would be enough $ to get us through until next summer without him having to work and go to school at the same time. If anyone wants to send up good thoughts or well wishes or keep her/his fingers crossed, please, I/we’d appreciate it. And if I know we have $ coming in, then I can focus on what I need to get done.

The other catch is that I can’t just stay put over the summer unless I stay in Fancy Town and never see the J. My admin job won’t let me spend the entire summer away either which really really sucks because everyone else gets to go away for almost four months without seeing campus let alone having to visit campus for that time. Yeah, I know it’s my job, and if we were staying here, then it’s no big deal. So why not have the J find employment in Fancy Town you might ask. Well, the short answer, and really the only answer is that he has better and more job opportunities for summer work that pay really well in Home City than he does in Fancy Town. And there are people in his guard unit who don’t want him to leave Home City guard who are bending over backwards right now to find him work for the summer so that he stays in the guard there until his contract is up. That’s why. Here, he’s looking at either some part time less than $10/hr job OR a full time job which is going to mean something permanent and that he doesn’t go back to school in the fall (which for me is a non option–he needs to finish). In Home City, he has more chances to find work that actually might help our financial situation. But this means for me that I do some commuting, which means that about every three weeks I’ll probably have to come back for a week to take care of stuff here. Not terrible. Not ideal. A bit exhausting. But the mutts will stay in Home City with the J, so that will actually make things a bit easier. And mutt care is 1/4 the price in Home City that it is here.

While I have a decent sense of what needs to get done by certain dates between now and the end of the semester for my teaching and administrative duties, what I need to do this weekend is map out my next six weeks of research first of all. Then I need to figure out the summer and the difference between the stuff I *need* to accomplish and by when and the stuff I *want* to accomplish and by when. And part of this is contingent on my being able to clear off the dining room table so that I have a workspace to figure this out.

None of this even takes into consideration either mine and the J’s fitness goals for the summer either. That’s an entirely different post. But no marathons. I think we’re both just still mentally and physically exhausted from the one in February that we’re going to concentrate on half marathons and 10Ks for a while.

Oy. And tomorrow morning we have a half marathon to run. At least we should be done before 10 am though so we can nap and then get on with our day.–WRONG! Now I’m stressed about this thing. Unbeknownst to me, packet pick-up was Wednesday and Thursday. There is no packet pick up today which means we must get to the race super early to pick it up. And the race doesn’t even start until 9:30. The J totally dropped the ball on this one. Grrrrrrrrrr. I’ll get over it, but still. Grrrrrrrrrrrrr. This is what happens when I’m not in charge. Yeah, I know, let it go Nola, and like I said, I will, but it’s an unnecessary PITA.

12 responses »

  1. good luck
    Hope that your half goes FANTASTICALLY! That’s really impressive.
    Also: was just laughing about that George Costanza under-desk set up with my sister yesterday. Way to go!
    ps: I read this a lot but don’t comment as much because it always makes me watch an ad before I can leave a comment. Just wanted you to know.
    Hugs,
    Inky

  2. good luck

    Hope that your half goes FANTASTICALLY! That’s really impressive.

    Also: was just laughing about that George Costanza under-desk set up with my sister yesterday. Way to go!

    ps: I read this a lot but don’t comment as much because it always makes me watch an ad before I can leave a comment. Just wanted you to know.

    Hugs,
    Inky

  3. good luck

    Hope that your half goes FANTASTICALLY! That’s really impressive.

    Also: was just laughing about that George Costanza under-desk set up with my sister yesterday. Way to go!

    ps: I read this a lot but don’t comment as much because it always makes me watch an ad before I can leave a comment. Just wanted you to know.

    Hugs,
    Inky

  4. good luck

    Hope that your half goes FANTASTICALLY! That’s really impressive.

    Also: was just laughing about that George Costanza under-desk set up with my sister yesterday. Way to go!

    ps: I read this a lot but don’t comment as much because it always makes me watch an ad before I can leave a comment. Just wanted you to know.

    Hugs,
    Inky

Leave a Reply

