Standard

Hmmmm, I seem to be going longer and longer between posts. I don’t intend on stopping the blog, but I just feel like I have such little time these days–even on spring break! as I am right now. I miss you all though. And Happy St. Patty’s Day!

So we’re in Home City. I’ve of course not gotten as much done as I’ve needed to. I’m almost finished with the novel that we’re finishing up on Monday, and I’m hoping to make a dent in the one that we’re starting on Wednesday. I’m behind on two administrative tasks, which I’m hoping won’t blow up in my face before Monday (actually, they won’t, but you know I never exaggerate anything, and I’m trying to just keep from stressing about it). The next month is just going to be a bitch administratively. I have to make a serious calendar here so I can keep on top of everything and not just crash and burn miserably. I also have a shit ton of stuff that needs to get written by August. One thing in May, one for June, and one for August. And my research plans have failed miserably. I will have to revisit and re-evaluate that this weekend when we get back. I mean, I’ve got some serious shit to do by May and even more serious stuff to take care of by August. Sigh.

Every time we come back here, it gets harder and harder. I would have thought it would get easier and easier as we settle more into Fancy Town, but that’s not the case. Today I started crying because the J finally turned in all of his stuff to his unit (which I was working really hard, to the point of pissing him off last night to convince him to stay in his unit here and just fly back once a month) which means that’s another part of our lives that’s not here anymore. Yeah, I know, our lives are in Fancy Town, and we went over this during Christmas that I would probably be less stressed and even happier (not that I’m unhappy in Fancy Town) if I regarded Fancy Town as "home" and not Home City. And even though I don’t have any friends here at all (except one, but her life is so hectic and chaotic that since we don’t see each other every day like when we worked together, it takes a lot of energy to get together with her, which might be different if we still lived here, but she has lots of friends here that go way back, so,you know, and I have lots of friends whom I adore and love in Fancy Town, but I digress), but I just miss having a house, a yard, a closet, my washer and dryer. I like not having to go up two flights of stairs to get to our dorm sized and over priced apartment. I like having a stove that doesn’t suck. I like having a BBQ grill and being able to sit outside with the mutts and read (like I’ve done the last two days). I know, I write the same thing here like every three months or whenever we come back to visit, but I just feel the same every time we’re here. And since the J has been going off to work at the armory every day since we’ve been here to make up two missed drills, it makes me even more nostalgic for the time right before (and right after) we got married. However, being back here would really make me miss my friends in Fancy Town, so I’d be pining here for something that I couldn’t have anyway. Oh well.

I guess I need to get back to some sort of work here.

Oh, and yesterday, it was so sunny and warm here, I got a sunburn! Today it was cloudy, but still warm enough for shorts even with clouds and to sit outside and read!

16 responses »

  1. for shit ton of stuff
    Nola, I don’t know if you read Stupid Motivational Tricks, but they’ve been using private blog spaces for scholarly accountability. Maybe if you and I start a group like that (and there are some other readers over there who’d like to start a group — plus we can probably invite peeps we know) we can get some of that accountability that worked for us in the past — without paying a ton of cash. I must do something though because I simply must.get.some.work done. I found another cool CFP and must get cracking.
    Sorry you’re homesick! But I envy you that you’re on spring break!
    ~EE

    • Re: for shit ton of stuff
      EE, what about thinking about doing something like that over the summer? I have one thing due at the end of May, one at the end of June, one at the beginning of August. Actually, the end of May thing I’m planning on finishing for the beginning of May because I’m presenting it at the faculty retreat which was for me to trick myself into doing it early so that I can focus on the two big things this summer. Man, but it’s almost April. Shit. But what do you think about a summer thing?

    • Re: for shit ton of stuff

      EE, what about thinking about doing something like that over the summer? I have one thing due at the end of May, one at the end of June, one at the beginning of August. Actually, the end of May thing I’m planning on finishing for the beginning of May because I’m presenting it at the faculty retreat which was for me to trick myself into doing it early so that I can focus on the two big things this summer. Man, but it’s almost April. Shit. But what do you think about a summer thing?

    • Re: for shit ton of stuff

      EE, what about thinking about doing something like that over the summer? I have one thing due at the end of May, one at the end of June, one at the beginning of August. Actually, the end of May thing I’m planning on finishing for the beginning of May because I’m presenting it at the faculty retreat which was for me to trick myself into doing it early so that I can focus on the two big things this summer. Man, but it’s almost April. Shit. But what do you think about a summer thing?

    • Re: for shit ton of stuff

      EE, what about thinking about doing something like that over the summer? I have one thing due at the end of May, one at the end of June, one at the beginning of August. Actually, the end of May thing I’m planning on finishing for the beginning of May because I’m presenting it at the faculty retreat which was for me to trick myself into doing it early so that I can focus on the two big things this summer. Man, but it’s almost April. Shit. But what do you think about a summer thing?

  2. for shit ton of stuff

    Nola, I don’t know if you read Stupid Motivational Tricks, but they’ve been using private blog spaces for scholarly accountability. Maybe if you and I start a group like that (and there are some other readers over there who’d like to start a group — plus we can probably invite peeps we know) we can get some of that accountability that worked for us in the past — without paying a ton of cash. I must do something though because I simply must.get.some.work done. I found another cool CFP and must get cracking.

    Sorry you’re homesick! But I envy you that you’re on spring break!

    ~EE

  3. for shit ton of stuff

    Nola, I don’t know if you read Stupid Motivational Tricks, but they’ve been using private blog spaces for scholarly accountability. Maybe if you and I start a group like that (and there are some other readers over there who’d like to start a group — plus we can probably invite peeps we know) we can get some of that accountability that worked for us in the past — without paying a ton of cash. I must do something though because I simply must.get.some.work done. I found another cool CFP and must get cracking.

    Sorry you’re homesick! But I envy you that you’re on spring break!

    ~EE

  4. for shit ton of stuff

    Nola, I don’t know if you read Stupid Motivational Tricks, but they’ve been using private blog spaces for scholarly accountability. Maybe if you and I start a group like that (and there are some other readers over there who’d like to start a group — plus we can probably invite peeps we know) we can get some of that accountability that worked for us in the past — without paying a ton of cash. I must do something though because I simply must.get.some.work done. I found another cool CFP and must get cracking.

    Sorry you’re homesick! But I envy you that you’re on spring break!

    ~EE

Leave a Reply

