Venting

Standard

Man, I was freaking out earlier because I couldn’t access the site.

I have a headache. A huge one. It’s so big that I’m contemplating canceling my lit class tonight because I cannot focus.

So last week was a crappy week. One of my uncles died. My gramps spent the whole weekend in the hospital. I was freaking out about this abstract for the book chapter that i had to turn in because I was sure it exposed me as a fraud. (Ok, turned out it didn’t–i needed the kudos on the abstract, seriously, from the editor, and he liked it a lot). The unbloggable situation has gotten out of control, or rather it had by yesterday. However, my part in it is now done. Thank god. Took up final drafts this morning–second essay I looked at–PLAGIARIZED! Yup. Right out of $parknote$. I’m also noticing a direct correlation between students who text and the quality of their essays. Of the six I’ve graded thus far, only two show any sort of work beyond the rough draft. Some just fixed grammar and added paragraph indentations. And I spent a lot of time with the comments–so much so that I had to ice my hand when I was done writing. Seriously. However, I don’t take it personally. It’s their grade. I’ve done my job. I provided feedback, time in class to write and ask questions, time out of class to ask questions. The plagiarism thing has me super annoyed right now because that’s one less damn thing that I don’t want to have to freaking worry about. However, I will not be defeated by this grading. This will be done before Wednesday because I will not have this hanging over my head over break and have to come back to it. So not worth it. When we leave Village Town for break, I’m leaving school and work behind me. Okay, not the research stuff, but I’m leaving everything I’m not looking forward to work on. Oh, and also, this morning, because of flooding, it took us 1 and a half hours to get to campus when it usually takes only about 35 minutes. Effing mess.

I will add, too, that thankfully my boss was supportive of the unbloggableness and acknowledged my handling of it, so that helps a bit.

My head seriously hurts. I’m about to cry. It’s like it’s caught in a vice. Thankfully my next class is taking their midterms, and I can sit and grade in that class while they are working. I really don’t think I can teach tonight. I’m stuck here because the J has class, but maybe I can get more stuff graded during that time and get it over with and focus on reading tomorrow. We’ll see how much I can get done between now and class and during class. My head just hurts so bad.

12 responses »

  1. Secretly, I kind of appreciate those papers where students don’t revise much after the rough draft. Well, at least I do when I’ve had a weekend like this weekend, working through almost 80 papers. It’s not good for the students’ learning, but it means that I don’t have to really read the revision closely or comment much.
    Hope you feel better soon, and glad that you’re done with the unbloggable situation.
    –dr four eyes

  2. Secretly, I kind of appreciate those papers where students don’t revise much after the rough draft. Well, at least I do when I’ve had a weekend like this weekend, working through almost 80 papers. It’s not good for the students’ learning, but it means that I don’t have to really read the revision closely or comment much.

    Hope you feel better soon, and glad that you’re done with the unbloggable situation.

    –dr four eyes

  3. Secretly, I kind of appreciate those papers where students don’t revise much after the rough draft. Well, at least I do when I’ve had a weekend like this weekend, working through almost 80 papers. It’s not good for the students’ learning, but it means that I don’t have to really read the revision closely or comment much.

    Hope you feel better soon, and glad that you’re done with the unbloggable situation.

    –dr four eyes

  4. Secretly, I kind of appreciate those papers where students don’t revise much after the rough draft. Well, at least I do when I’ve had a weekend like this weekend, working through almost 80 papers. It’s not good for the students’ learning, but it means that I don’t have to really read the revision closely or comment much.

    Hope you feel better soon, and glad that you’re done with the unbloggable situation.

    –dr four eyes

Leave a Reply

