Another Marathon Down

Standard

I can’t believe it’s been over a week since my last post!

It’s week 4 into the semester and I feel, because of the snow days, at once like the semester has just started and completely overwhelmed by it’s progress, or lack thereof. I still have some residual sinus issues that are driving me crazy. Actually, I think I was close to being well until the marathon and the travel, and now things seem to have resurfaced.

Yes, I ran another marathon this weekend. I was trying to find my splits, but oh well. Anyway, I dropped 32 minutes off my marathon time from October, so I’m pretty pleased about that. I ran a 4:32:35.I think my half-marathon split was my second fasted half-marathon time ever, and I’m in a lot of pain right now as a result. Actually, the outside of my foot hurts more than anything this morning. The last 10 miles hurt. The last six really hurt. The last four were down right excruciating. And I can trick myself into thinking that my IT band doesn’t hurt, that is until I bend down or try to go down stairs or anything like that. We got home at midnight on Sunday and then had to get right back up before six and had to be at school by 8:15. Yesterday was a long day. I was supposed to meet with my trainer today, but at about mile 16 during the race I knew it was going to be impossible. Plus, I’m exhausted. I want to go back to bed and take a nap. Perhaps I will. But I have so much to do. I’ve got a L.O.R. to write. Two student issues to deal with, neither of which are mine, but because of my writing program directorship thing, I have to deal with them. I’m the advisor now for the English honor society, so I’ve got to do all that crap like last week, but that has to wait until tomorrow. I have a meeting today. Argh. Too much. At least 2/3 classes tomorrow are doing workshop type stuff so I only have to read for one class.

It was great to get to NOLA again and run the marathon there. We just prepared poorly for it. This was the J’s first one and he was in a lot of pain during the race. I think his recovery is going better than mine. But he got to sit still more yesterday and do homework. I had to come back home in between classes and get the dogs, go to the grocery, and do much more walking up and down the stairs to get to our apartment, so I think his being able to sit still for longer periods really helped him. And I think actually that I may take a couple of ibuprofin here and go lay down for about another half an hour and try again. I’ve got to get the LORs written and that administrative stuff taken care of before I do anything else because I think that’s stressing me out the worst right now. I don’t want to deal with it, but I know I’ve got to, and if I keep putting it off, then it’s going to stress me out even more and I know once it’s done, I can get on with my day.

This post is really scattered, too. I think I’m still tired. I think we’re done with the marathon for a while. I think we’re going to focus on halves and maybe some 10ks. I can’t even think about putting on running shoes right now. After the October one I was psyched! I just didn’t do what I should have for this one because I had run one already and was like, "oh, yeah, I know what it’s like to run 26.2 miles," and The J was shocked at how much more difficult it was than he expected. And I’m sure this one hurts more because I ran it faster. While I’d like to do another one and get that time down to 4 hours, I think I might focus on the half for a while. And now, for reals, I’m going to lay down.

I hope you all are doing well! Have a great day.

ETA: I stretched, took some more ibuprofen, and laid down for another 20 minutes. I got back up, dealt with the student issues that were brought to my attention (or at least I sent out the emails I needed to for that), and wrote up my LOR for the student, and it’s a good one, IMHO. And you know what, I feel soooooooooooo much better already now. I should have dealt with it yesterday, but it’s dealt with now, and I can get to class prep for tomorrow. Yay.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

