Cloud 9 Right Now

Standard

So please don’t think less of me for sharing more good news because seriously, I’ve never had a cluster of good news like this before. I feel like I should be wary, but anyway here it is–

In all one day yesterday, one of our esteemed fellow bloggers asked me to chair her proposed panel for a conference, for which I am intensely excited and extremely flattered. It’s for the conference I was trying to write the abstract for and to which I had planned to go anyway, so now I have a reason to be there if the panel gets accepted.So I was super giddy and flattered for that! Then, right after that, the panel chair (my former advisor) emails me to tell me that one of his panelists for the panel I wanted to be on–the one that I was writing the abstract for but that I couldn’t make it work–well, he emails me to ask me if I had an idea for a paper and a title because he needs someone for the panel. So I gave him a title and like three sentences of a broad idea and what my gut told me about the topic, and he loved the idea, and now I’m on the panel! THEN, yes, there’s more, in the same email, he’s like, "oh by the way, I’m working on this book project on your favorite author and I need scholars to write chapters, and so would you want to write one?" Insert hyperventilating here. OMG! I think the thing that got me the most was that he referred to me as a scholar! which I suppose I should start thinking of myself as one, right? But holy crap man!

So really in like a day I went from having nothing cool to be involved in for the big conference to have two super awesome things to do, and then within a week I went from having a blind sense of working on an article to send out somewhere in the hopes of being able to get something published to basically two locked in publishing opportunities! THe book chapter, too, I might even get paid for! So now I have an article and a conference paper to write this semester and then another article to work on after that! All in time, too, for my professional development report due today!

Now it’s imperative that I do figure out what’s going to work for the research schedule after this first week–I have two hours to make up today because I was sick yesterday and I slept right through my planned time for today–not a good sign that this week is already falling apart, but I guess a trial and error period is acceptable to figure out what will work so that I will stick with it. I spent yesterday on the couch for the sole reason that I didn’t want to say that I spent all day in bed. I missed bootcamp because I felt so awful,and my meeting ended up being canceled, so that was good, and I still feel a bit under the weather this morning–I’m congested, stuffy, achy, wait what does this have to do with research? Oh yeah, I was explaining why my 6-8 didn’t happen this morning. I think i’m going to feed the mutts and then work on my professional development thing and I might take a nap.

16 responses »

  1. Yay! This is awesome! And you totally are a scholar! OWN that shit; don’t go around apologizing for your stuff!
    (And people get paid for article thingies? No way! Who knew that was possible?)
    Good luck with the writing plans! Send some of your good luck my way!

  2. Yay! This is awesome! And you totally are a scholar! OWN that shit; don’t go around apologizing for your stuff!

    (And people get paid for article thingies? No way! Who knew that was possible?)

    Good luck with the writing plans! Send some of your good luck my way!

  3. Yay! This is awesome! And you totally are a scholar! OWN that shit; don’t go around apologizing for your stuff!

    (And people get paid for article thingies? No way! Who knew that was possible?)

    Good luck with the writing plans! Send some of your good luck my way!

  4. Yay! This is awesome! And you totally are a scholar! OWN that shit; don’t go around apologizing for your stuff!

    (And people get paid for article thingies? No way! Who knew that was possible?)

    Good luck with the writing plans! Send some of your good luck my way!

  5. AWESOME! Totally awesome! I’m totally happy for you!
    I’m having trouble getting my scholarship done right now too, even though I’ve got good things on the horizon. Perhaps we could commit to a certain number of hours per week and then blog it and also check in with each other. Because I was SO doing much better when we were doing that thing way back when.
    Awesome, girlfriend, just awesome!
    Love coming over here and finding such great news!
    ~EE

  6. AWESOME! Totally awesome! I’m totally happy for you!

    I’m having trouble getting my scholarship done right now too, even though I’ve got good things on the horizon. Perhaps we could commit to a certain number of hours per week and then blog it and also check in with each other. Because I was SO doing much better when we were doing that thing way back when.

    Awesome, girlfriend, just awesome!

    Love coming over here and finding such great news!

    ~EE

  7. AWESOME! Totally awesome! I’m totally happy for you!

    I’m having trouble getting my scholarship done right now too, even though I’ve got good things on the horizon. Perhaps we could commit to a certain number of hours per week and then blog it and also check in with each other. Because I was SO doing much better when we were doing that thing way back when.

    Awesome, girlfriend, just awesome!

    Love coming over here and finding such great news!

    ~EE

  8. AWESOME! Totally awesome! I’m totally happy for you!

    I’m having trouble getting my scholarship done right now too, even though I’ve got good things on the horizon. Perhaps we could commit to a certain number of hours per week and then blog it and also check in with each other. Because I was SO doing much better when we were doing that thing way back when.

    Awesome, girlfriend, just awesome!

    Love coming over here and finding such great news!

    ~EE

Leave a Reply

