It’s Thursday Already?? How did that happen????

Standard

Well, this was the first week of school. I say *was* because all I have left for the week is a meeting to which I am not looking forward–not because it will be a bad meeting or bad and mean things will happen but because I feel like it might be kind of a pointless meeting. And to have it the first week. And to do it when there’s snow on the ground. I don’t know what it’s like by campus, but the roads are bad right now over near my neck of the woods. Granted, I can hear the plow right now and the meeting isn’t until the afternoon, blerg, but still. I want to stay here, snug, and yeah, I know it’s 6:30 am and I have 8 hours until the meeting, but it’ll be time for the meeting before I know it.

I think I have a decent group of students so far. All three classes met Monday. Only one met yesterday. It was good that it was the freshman class though. They need more structure. They seem like an okay bunch. I think they are very unsure of me, and I have to remember that class ends 10 minutes before I think it does. I teach at a weird time. Or rather it feels like a weird time to me. I was exhausted by the time I got to my lit class Monday night, but that class just energizes me. I know why the other classes are "service" classes because sadly, I feel no connection or energy to teach them, but this particular lit class–I walked in tired, read the syllabus, left full of energy. It’s exciting stuff that I get to teach–exciting for me. Despite my negative Nancy attitude on Monday about having to go back to school, it turned out ok.

MWs though are going to be an all day affair though. Leave for school around 7:10 am. Return home around 6:15 pm. That’s 11 hours. Yikes. However, it felt good to have Tuesday off. Today will feel mostly good even though I have a meeting, it’s not like I have to prep or anything for it. And it’s only three TR total a month that that will happen. So tonight while the J is in class, I’ll work on my professional development report that is due tomorrow. I’m not sure why I’ve been putting it off. It’s not like I have all that much to "report." Maybe that’s why.

I do have some "good" news I guess. My face was chosen to be on the college’s website, so when you pull up the homepage, my face will be one of the five or so on the slide show with some quippy little statement about teaching students stuff. It’s a nice pic. I don’t like how my mouth looks, but oh well. It’s my 15 minutes of fame I suppose. Though I think Super Awesome Colleague has better photos and did get the big campus wide teaching award last year, so I think he should be up there rather than me and I have no idea who decided that I would be up there or even why. They have like five really nice photos of faculty and students as it is. I think it’s kinda funny because it seems silly that I should be on there.

Also, and this is only slightly bigger but really not that big, because the creator of and editor of the journal is my former undergrad advisor, but anyway, he asked me to turn my paper from the conference into an article and submit it to his journal, so I guess, was I technically "invited" to submit an article for a journal, right? I don’t want to make a bigger deal out of it than it is, but I don’t want to minimize it either–it’s small and peer reviewed (although I think he would be the one reviewing it but he is a leading scholar in that field, so that counts right?), and although small, it’s one of two journals devoted to nothing but this particular field, and I think it’s been around for almost a decade–maybe 7 or 8 years? and I know some pretty famous scholars are involved with it, even if it’s only marginally, but a couple of them do read it, so that’s kind of a little big deal right? I mean, it’s not like someone from Studies in 19th cent fiction called and said, "Hey, Nola, write an article for us," and I do know the guy, but it’s a chance to get my foot in the door right? I mean, there’s totally no question that i’m going to write the article (it’s on the shorter side, too, like 3000 words), but that’s kinda cool, right? And it’d be out in October. So that’s kinda like bim, bam, boom, but it might just be the research boost that I need for my confidence here and to get me started. So until this comes out, is it correct to put on my professional development report then that I was invited to submit an article to said journal on a particular topic? I don’t want to misrepresent myself here.

On the more lackluster side, I already know that Tuesday mornings as a research morning is not going to work. I did get an hour in Tuesday, and it’s not that I didn’t have the time, but I was filled with such anxiety the whole time about not prepping for Wednesday’s classes  to get the prep out of the way that I couldn’t focus or concentrate because I kept thinking, "okay, you gotta hurry up and get through this so you can get to your prep work." So, there already has to be some adjustment. Tuesday mornings then will be devoted to prep. If I have free time on Tuesday afternoons, then that will become the optional research day while the J is in class. Granted I have a buffer on Wednesdays before the afternoon classes, but I want to use that for grading and lecture prep, not reading for class stuff. So, it should be this time on Thursday mornings then that will become the research time, but even that might have to change time because I’m not used to getting up between 5-5:30 every morning yet, though this morning I had no trouble, but I did want to catch up on the blogging here. And I’m tired man. Even though afternoon classes were canceled yesterday, I was still exhausted. Maybe I just need to have that time set aside for when the J is in class on TRs and do it in the afternoons–the only problem with the mornings, and I can still get an hour or so in I guess, is that Thursday mornings is boot camp class, and since I won’t be able to pay my trainer anymore (or not for a while anyway), boot camp class is when I’d get to see her, and i don’t want to give that up, especially since MW are a wash now with the working out because of my teaching schedule. I could get up and do the P90X at home on those days, but I’m not ready for three big schedule changes and adjustments all at once.

Also, I think I’m getting a little bit of a cold. Blerg. And this snow and winter weather is really effing up my training schedule–granted, I have access to a treadmill now, but didn’t in Home City, but still, I have to drive to get to the treadmill at the gym, and this weather kind of fucks that up, too, being able to get over to the gym. I mean, in theory it’s nice, it’s pretty, being snowed in has it’s advantages, but not so much when one has a marathon in two weeks and is trying to lose weight. Double blerg.

I think it’s time to refill the coffee, read some, and contemplate whether we will be able to make it to the gym this morning for bootcamp, and keep my fingers crosses that they keep delaying school long enough that they just decide to cancel it altogether; however, it looks clear for the rest of the day with more snow starting tonight and snowing all weekend. I’m not sure how I feel about that.

16 responses »

  1. Yes, you were invited to submit an article to a peer-reviewed journal. Yes, yes, yes! Not technically, just yes! This is how things work–you know someone or else someone you know knows someone (or maybe they told someone else about your work) and that someone is the editor of a journal looking for submissions. So..yes! Yay! Yes, put that on your professional development report. It happened.
    Anastasia

  2. Yes, you were invited to submit an article to a peer-reviewed journal. Yes, yes, yes! Not technically, just yes! This is how things work–you know someone or else someone you know knows someone (or maybe they told someone else about your work) and that someone is the editor of a journal looking for submissions. So..yes! Yay! Yes, put that on your professional development report. It happened.

    Anastasia

  3. Yes, you were invited to submit an article to a peer-reviewed journal. Yes, yes, yes! Not technically, just yes! This is how things work–you know someone or else someone you know knows someone (or maybe they told someone else about your work) and that someone is the editor of a journal looking for submissions. So..yes! Yay! Yes, put that on your professional development report. It happened.

    Anastasia

  4. Yes, you were invited to submit an article to a peer-reviewed journal. Yes, yes, yes! Not technically, just yes! This is how things work–you know someone or else someone you know knows someone (or maybe they told someone else about your work) and that someone is the editor of a journal looking for submissions. So..yes! Yay! Yes, put that on your professional development report. It happened.

    Anastasia

  5. What Anastasia said! Yes! Yes! Yes! You were invited to submit an article! Awesome! And I bet that doing this article (which is so much more important than a conference paper — at least at my place — I guess it really depends on your P&T requirements) and getting it done will give you oodles of confidence about your scholarship! So it’s even better and more important that you’re figuring out what will work and not work for your research/scholarship schedule, because, my dear, YOU HAVE A DEADLINE! Awesome!
    ~EE

  6. What Anastasia said! Yes! Yes! Yes! You were invited to submit an article! Awesome! And I bet that doing this article (which is so much more important than a conference paper — at least at my place — I guess it really depends on your P&T requirements) and getting it done will give you oodles of confidence about your scholarship! So it’s even better and more important that you’re figuring out what will work and not work for your research/scholarship schedule, because, my dear, YOU HAVE A DEADLINE! Awesome!

    ~EE

  7. What Anastasia said! Yes! Yes! Yes! You were invited to submit an article! Awesome! And I bet that doing this article (which is so much more important than a conference paper — at least at my place — I guess it really depends on your P&T requirements) and getting it done will give you oodles of confidence about your scholarship! So it’s even better and more important that you’re figuring out what will work and not work for your research/scholarship schedule, because, my dear, YOU HAVE A DEADLINE! Awesome!

    ~EE

  8. What Anastasia said! Yes! Yes! Yes! You were invited to submit an article! Awesome! And I bet that doing this article (which is so much more important than a conference paper — at least at my place — I guess it really depends on your P&T requirements) and getting it done will give you oodles of confidence about your scholarship! So it’s even better and more important that you’re figuring out what will work and not work for your research/scholarship schedule, because, my dear, YOU HAVE A DEADLINE! Awesome!

    ~EE

  9. If your undergraduate advisor didn’t believe in the quality of your work, he wouldn’t have invited you to publish there. So as both comments above me said, it’s not “technically”. And put it in your professional development report. Good luck, and meet the deadline!

  10. If your undergraduate advisor didn’t believe in the quality of your work, he wouldn’t have invited you to publish there. So as both comments above me said, it’s not “technically”. And put it in your professional development report. Good luck, and meet the deadline!

  11. If your undergraduate advisor didn’t believe in the quality of your work, he wouldn’t have invited you to publish there. So as both comments above me said, it’s not “technically”. And put it in your professional development report. Good luck, and meet the deadline!

  12. If your undergraduate advisor didn’t believe in the quality of your work, he wouldn’t have invited you to publish there. So as both comments above me said, it’s not “technically”. And put it in your professional development report. Good luck, and meet the deadline!

  13. Yay! You were invited to submit an article! (Is this from the conference last spring, or am I forgetting one?) Hooray, hooray!
    And I feel ya on the whole wanting the next two weeks to be snow days. 🙂
    — Sisyphus.

  14. Yay! You were invited to submit an article! (Is this from the conference last spring, or am I forgetting one?) Hooray, hooray!

    And I feel ya on the whole wanting the next two weeks to be snow days. 🙂

    — Sisyphus.

  15. Yay! You were invited to submit an article! (Is this from the conference last spring, or am I forgetting one?) Hooray, hooray!

    And I feel ya on the whole wanting the next two weeks to be snow days. 🙂

    — Sisyphus.

  16. Yay! You were invited to submit an article! (Is this from the conference last spring, or am I forgetting one?) Hooray, hooray!

    And I feel ya on the whole wanting the next two weeks to be snow days. 🙂

    — Sisyphus.

Leave a Reply

