Homesick and Running

Standard

Good lord. I promise not to make this whole thing about WW, but uh yeah, it’s Wednesday, and after a night in the French Quarter, um yeah. I’m going to have to play catch-up for the rest of the week. Really I would have been fine had I not insisted on having these at the end of the night, cos you know those babies cost a whole helluva lot of points there. While they were de.li.cious, and while it had been seriously 3 years since I’ve had them, and my body is so not used to all that rich goodness that despite the fact that my husband and my cousin were the more likely candidates for puking (I actually kept the drinking in check), I was the one who nearly got sick. Worth it? Not sure. But they sure felt like home actually, and it will probably be another three years before I eat them again. REally, I should have had just one, but I ate the whole damn serving of three. And it sucks because I really watched the alcohol, but I feel hungover. That blows.

I love that my husband loves being here in NOLA. It would suck if he was just kind of like, "meh, I guess this would be an okay place to be," but I think if I said to him tomorrow, "hey, let’s pack up everything and move down here" he’d have his stuff packed up before I would. I’m glad that he feels that kind of connection here to this city.

I’m contemplating a run. I think I might feel better even if I go out for only about 30-40 minutes, but I’m tired, a little dehydrated, my stomach is a little iffy because of the beignets. On the other hand, I’d probably feel a bit better if I went for just a short run especially since tomorrow is a travel day and I won’t be able to run then. And everyone else will probably still be asleep for another hour or so. I think I’ve talked myself into it.

I like that running has become for me what yoga is for me when I’m not running–it’s that time when I can center myself. It’s becoming something that I like to do for myself, something that I’m beginning to look forward to every day rather than a chore, which is typically what marathon training becomes for me–a chore. But focusing on time, like I mentioned yesterday, makes it I think more like yoga–I know I’ll have a certain number of minutes to focus on an activity and be present in that moment rather than "omg! I have to run this far on this day and do this or training is blown!" Now it’s more like, "okay, I’m going to do this today because I need this time alone and I know I’m going to feel great afterward, and oh, it just also happens to help with the marathon training."

While I thought I had a bunch more to say about this, since I talked myself into going for a shorter run rather than talking myself out of it, I think I’m going to head out to loosen up the legs, and by the time I get back the sleeping beauties should be rolling out of bed and we’re going to go shopping a bit before heading back to my aunt’s.

8 responses »

  1. Good luck….
    Hi, I just discovered your blog, and I really liked it. I wanted to share mine with you: http://spanishteachingissues.blogspot.com/. I am also a TT professor (of Spanish), in the Midwest, trying to figure out how to balance teaching, scholarship, committees, and personal life. I just started blogging, and found out that it helps me clear my mind, to put thoughts into print. I also realized what I am looking for: a community of new professors like me, to exchange tips, issues, etc. Even if our disciplines are not the same, I believe that the issues that we face are pretty similar.

  2. Good luck….

    Hi, I just discovered your blog, and I really liked it. I wanted to share mine with you: http://spanishteachingissues.blogspot.com/. I am also a TT professor (of Spanish), in the Midwest, trying to figure out how to balance teaching, scholarship, committees, and personal life. I just started blogging, and found out that it helps me clear my mind, to put thoughts into print. I also realized what I am looking for: a community of new professors like me, to exchange tips, issues, etc. Even if our disciplines are not the same, I believe that the issues that we face are pretty similar.

  3. Good luck….

    Hi, I just discovered your blog, and I really liked it. I wanted to share mine with you: http://spanishteachingissues.blogspot.com/. I am also a TT professor (of Spanish), in the Midwest, trying to figure out how to balance teaching, scholarship, committees, and personal life. I just started blogging, and found out that it helps me clear my mind, to put thoughts into print. I also realized what I am looking for: a community of new professors like me, to exchange tips, issues, etc. Even if our disciplines are not the same, I believe that the issues that we face are pretty similar.

  4. Good luck….

    Hi, I just discovered your blog, and I really liked it. I wanted to share mine with you: http://spanishteachingissues.blogspot.com/. I am also a TT professor (of Spanish), in the Midwest, trying to figure out how to balance teaching, scholarship, committees, and personal life. I just started blogging, and found out that it helps me clear my mind, to put thoughts into print. I also realized what I am looking for: a community of new professors like me, to exchange tips, issues, etc. Even if our disciplines are not the same, I believe that the issues that we face are pretty similar.

Leave a Reply

