Stupid Cheaters and Their Stupid Cheating

Standard

So we’re in the home stretch, which right now, unfortunately, at least for me, means nothing but non-stop grading for the next two weeks. To quote Liz Lemon, "blerg." And in all honesty, I would have been just about done with most of it by yesterday afternoon had I not come across a paper that clearly cheated! After running the suspicious parts of it through google and various plagiarism checkers I can’t find it. However, the paper was supposed to be only 4-5 pages. This one goes on to the 7th. The student rarely brings hir book to class. Failed the theory exam. Never participates, but rather sits smuggly in hir row and giggles during the entire class. Came here on academic probation and now ze is writing like someone who has gained a mastery of the material. Furthermore, the essay did not call for outside sources, and should not have had any and hir paper make reference to other critics (not cited) and has a citation in it that a) is not MLA to begin with, and b) ze has no works cited page (which I told them since we were all using the same novel, I didn’t need a works cited page. But that’s what’s really tipped me off. All these weird references to critics who were neither discussed nor assigned.

I’m pissed because now I have to spend time dealing with this this. The other students didn’t get their work back on time because of this, and now I’m crunched for time this morning because of this student.

But I have a question. My last cheaters were easy to catch and document because they cheated off each other. And the other plagiarists I found right away. So I need advice on how to go about handling this one. I was thinking I would ask for ALL the FULL and complete citations for her essay and track down the articles and see if ze pulled material from them. Or if I should just fail her for not following the assignment–no outside sources, way too long (I’d have to give my chair a head’s up first).

Any advice??

36 responses »

  1. I’m avoiding my big stack of grading right now! And at the end of next week I’ll get an even bigger stack of grading and finals! Who-hoo! Bleah.
    I would fail the student for not following the assignment, and then if the student complains or ask questions, make an appointment to have her (him? whatever) bring in copies of all the sources used and explain them to you. Probably also contact the dept. chair.
    Good luck!

    • Yep. Fail her the easy way. She won’t complain because she knows she cheated, and if she does, call her in and ask her lots of questions about all those critics and get her to break down and admit it. I assume cheating has even worse consequences than failure on the assignment.

    • Yep. Fail her the easy way. She won’t complain because she knows she cheated, and if she does, call her in and ask her lots of questions about all those critics and get her to break down and admit it. I assume cheating has even worse consequences than failure on the assignment.

    • Yep. Fail her the easy way. She won’t complain because she knows she cheated, and if she does, call her in and ask her lots of questions about all those critics and get her to break down and admit it. I assume cheating has even worse consequences than failure on the assignment.

    • Yep. Fail her the easy way. She won’t complain because she knows she cheated, and if she does, call her in and ask her lots of questions about all those critics and get her to break down and admit it. I assume cheating has even worse consequences than failure on the assignment.

  2. I’m avoiding my big stack of grading right now! And at the end of next week I’ll get an even bigger stack of grading and finals! Who-hoo! Bleah.

    I would fail the student for not following the assignment, and then if the student complains or ask questions, make an appointment to have her (him? whatever) bring in copies of all the sources used and explain them to you. Probably also contact the dept. chair.

    Good luck!

  3. I’m avoiding my big stack of grading right now! And at the end of next week I’ll get an even bigger stack of grading and finals! Who-hoo! Bleah.

    I would fail the student for not following the assignment, and then if the student complains or ask questions, make an appointment to have her (him? whatever) bring in copies of all the sources used and explain them to you. Probably also contact the dept. chair.

    Good luck!

  4. I’m avoiding my big stack of grading right now! And at the end of next week I’ll get an even bigger stack of grading and finals! Who-hoo! Bleah.

    I would fail the student for not following the assignment, and then if the student complains or ask questions, make an appointment to have her (him? whatever) bring in copies of all the sources used and explain them to you. Probably also contact the dept. chair.

    Good luck!

  5. Definitely the paper gets an F for not following the assignment.
    As for the plagiarism, I would probably interrogate the student in person about very specific points in the paper until the student cracked and confessed. It takes less time and effort than asking for the sources and tracking them down, and it works more often than you’d think. Of course, that strategy does mean that you have to be a bit of a sadistic bitch, because it’s really devastating for them and nearly always results in a sobbing student.

  6. Definitely the paper gets an F for not following the assignment.

    As for the plagiarism, I would probably interrogate the student in person about very specific points in the paper until the student cracked and confessed. It takes less time and effort than asking for the sources and tracking them down, and it works more often than you’d think. Of course, that strategy does mean that you have to be a bit of a sadistic bitch, because it’s really devastating for them and nearly always results in a sobbing student.

  7. Definitely the paper gets an F for not following the assignment.

    As for the plagiarism, I would probably interrogate the student in person about very specific points in the paper until the student cracked and confessed. It takes less time and effort than asking for the sources and tracking them down, and it works more often than you’d think. Of course, that strategy does mean that you have to be a bit of a sadistic bitch, because it’s really devastating for them and nearly always results in a sobbing student.

  8. Definitely the paper gets an F for not following the assignment.

    As for the plagiarism, I would probably interrogate the student in person about very specific points in the paper until the student cracked and confessed. It takes less time and effort than asking for the sources and tracking them down, and it works more often than you’d think. Of course, that strategy does mean that you have to be a bit of a sadistic bitch, because it’s really devastating for them and nearly always results in a sobbing student.

  9. Fail her
    Department chair knows cheating from not cheating, and knows you know, too. I say call student on the plagiarism and use her previous work as evidence. It’ll be clear enough. Tell her to get you her drafts and cited materials by (give one day’s notice) to prove her innocence.
    I agree with the previous comments that failing her for failure to do the assignment properly is easiest, but it’s a cop-out. You know she cheated. Call her on that. Your job is to know her writing and critical thinking abilities. This ain’t it, so show that you know your students by refusing to fall for untraceable cheating.
    She probably bought the paper and that’s why it’s not google-able. I had a student once buy a paper and it was untraceable, but the next semester someone else used it, too. Ooops.

  10. Fail her

    Department chair knows cheating from not cheating, and knows you know, too. I say call student on the plagiarism and use her previous work as evidence. It’ll be clear enough. Tell her to get you her drafts and cited materials by (give one day’s notice) to prove her innocence.

    I agree with the previous comments that failing her for failure to do the assignment properly is easiest, but it’s a cop-out. You know she cheated. Call her on that. Your job is to know her writing and critical thinking abilities. This ain’t it, so show that you know your students by refusing to fall for untraceable cheating.

    She probably bought the paper and that’s why it’s not google-able. I had a student once buy a paper and it was untraceable, but the next semester someone else used it, too. Ooops.

  11. Fail her

    Department chair knows cheating from not cheating, and knows you know, too. I say call student on the plagiarism and use her previous work as evidence. It’ll be clear enough. Tell her to get you her drafts and cited materials by (give one day’s notice) to prove her innocence.

    I agree with the previous comments that failing her for failure to do the assignment properly is easiest, but it’s a cop-out. You know she cheated. Call her on that. Your job is to know her writing and critical thinking abilities. This ain’t it, so show that you know your students by refusing to fall for untraceable cheating.

    She probably bought the paper and that’s why it’s not google-able. I had a student once buy a paper and it was untraceable, but the next semester someone else used it, too. Ooops.

  12. Fail her

    Department chair knows cheating from not cheating, and knows you know, too. I say call student on the plagiarism and use her previous work as evidence. It’ll be clear enough. Tell her to get you her drafts and cited materials by (give one day’s notice) to prove her innocence.

    I agree with the previous comments that failing her for failure to do the assignment properly is easiest, but it’s a cop-out. You know she cheated. Call her on that. Your job is to know her writing and critical thinking abilities. This ain’t it, so show that you know your students by refusing to fall for untraceable cheating.

    She probably bought the paper and that’s why it’s not google-able. I had a student once buy a paper and it was untraceable, but the next semester someone else used it, too. Ooops.

  13. I don’t like the failing her for not following the assignment, especially because it sounds like, if she didn’t cheat, she actually *exceeded* the assignment’s expectations. I’d say, show the paper to the chair so that your back is covered, then call the student in and ask some specific questions about the paper (as has been suggested above). Otherwise, it seems to me that you’re sending a mixed message (and, arguably, letting hir get away with cheating).
    -heu mihi

  14. I don’t like the failing her for not following the assignment, especially because it sounds like, if she didn’t cheat, she actually *exceeded* the assignment’s expectations. I’d say, show the paper to the chair so that your back is covered, then call the student in and ask some specific questions about the paper (as has been suggested above). Otherwise, it seems to me that you’re sending a mixed message (and, arguably, letting hir get away with cheating).

    -heu mihi

  15. I don’t like the failing her for not following the assignment, especially because it sounds like, if she didn’t cheat, she actually *exceeded* the assignment’s expectations. I’d say, show the paper to the chair so that your back is covered, then call the student in and ask some specific questions about the paper (as has been suggested above). Otherwise, it seems to me that you’re sending a mixed message (and, arguably, letting hir get away with cheating).

    -heu mihi

  16. I don’t like the failing her for not following the assignment, especially because it sounds like, if she didn’t cheat, she actually *exceeded* the assignment’s expectations. I’d say, show the paper to the chair so that your back is covered, then call the student in and ask some specific questions about the paper (as has been suggested above). Otherwise, it seems to me that you’re sending a mixed message (and, arguably, letting hir get away with cheating).

    -heu mihi

  17. Fail her. Quiz her on specifics, and have her bring in her own previous essays. Show her how they differ. Sometimes that works. Sometimes it bites you in the ass. Been there, done both. I’d still fail her.

  18. Fail her. Quiz her on specifics, and have her bring in her own previous essays. Show her how they differ. Sometimes that works. Sometimes it bites you in the ass. Been there, done both. I’d still fail her.

  19. Fail her. Quiz her on specifics, and have her bring in her own previous essays. Show her how they differ. Sometimes that works. Sometimes it bites you in the ass. Been there, done both. I’d still fail her.

  20. Fail her. Quiz her on specifics, and have her bring in her own previous essays. Show her how they differ. Sometimes that works. Sometimes it bites you in the ass. Been there, done both. I’d still fail her.

Leave a Reply

