Standard

 I only have three papers left to grade!! Okay, well of this batch. And why am I blogging when I only have three left you ask? Well, because I’ve been grading since 5:45 am this morning. THe first few I got through were okay. The last bunch, well, sheesh. Even for drafts. On one I actually had to write to the student that I had not a clue what the essay was about. I wasn’t trying to be harsh (and I put that in there), but it’s true. It was that incomprehensible. 

And yesterday, I took up two more batches of papers. I really need to do a better job of coordinating my syllabi next semester so that I’m not picking up three different types of essays all on the same day. I might try staggering them. But then that might mean that I’m *always* grading.

I still really am enjoying my students this semester. THere are a couple of froshes whom I really don’t like. I hate to say it, but it’s true, and I’ve done a good job of not letting it get to me, which is a huge step for me as many of you know. I have found teaching this semester to be somewhat enjoyable again. I’m not ready to run screaming for the hills, even this late into the semester, yet another huge step for me. Of course, clearly, a large part of this is the presence of The J. He calms me. I think the other significant factor is teaching three classes instead of four. I knew it’d make a big difference in terms of essay grading, but I didn’t think it’d make that big a difference in terms of my sanity, but it has. So yay. I wasn’t too sure about being the writing program director, but the benefits sure outweigh the hassles, let me tell you. Plus, I just have two really good groups of majors this semester, and that helps a whole helluva lot, too. 

Unfortunately, I’m still on this major hormonal rollercoaster. Coming off the pill is just as bad as being on it! Five pounds I gained in two days!! WTF?? Seriously, I’m already struggling here. I don’t need some stupid hormone weight adding to my anxieties, especially since I’m going to see the fam in about two weeks. Yikes. It’ll be fun. They’re all looking forward to seeing The J.  And they’re all much nicer to me when The J’s around. Not that they are mean or anything when he’s not, but he brings out the best in them. And when my pops starts in on how it must be nice to get paid to sit around and do nothing, The J can attest to how much I actually do work, and how much of that is teaching work and not working on my own stuff or reading a random book and calling that "work." Not that he says it often, but when he’s got a chip on his shoulder, the truth seeps out. 

Miss T, poor girl, has another bladder infection. 😦 But she has medicine now, and the girl doesn’t act sick, so I’m sure she’ll be fine.

There are a couple of things that I’m sorta depressed about, but I feel like I would be whining about them, and I don’t feel like whining about them right now, so I’m going to get back to grading and I hope you all are doing well and  have a happy day

8 responses »

  1. By now, you should be done with your triumvirate of papers and feeling set for the day. We need to catch up! Happy to read this since it proves that you do enjoy teaching. There is a motive to stay in the profession for you, then. Not so happy to read what you allude to in the end of the post. Let’s talk soon. Meanwhile, I’ve been AWOL because if you can believe this, I’m combing through the 250 applications we got for the Early Modern English search. 250. Is the Renaissance that great? 😉

    • Yay! Glad to “read” your voice! Peoples loves the Renaissance. Unfortunately, the Renaissance never loved me. But wow, that seems like a lot of applications! But even my little job that I got, I think the year I applied there were like 120 applications, so I guess that’s the perils of the market for those on the search committees! Good luck! Talk to you soon!

    • Yay! Glad to “read” your voice! Peoples loves the Renaissance. Unfortunately, the Renaissance never loved me. But wow, that seems like a lot of applications! But even my little job that I got, I think the year I applied there were like 120 applications, so I guess that’s the perils of the market for those on the search committees! Good luck! Talk to you soon!

    • Yay! Glad to “read” your voice! Peoples loves the Renaissance. Unfortunately, the Renaissance never loved me. But wow, that seems like a lot of applications! But even my little job that I got, I think the year I applied there were like 120 applications, so I guess that’s the perils of the market for those on the search committees! Good luck! Talk to you soon!

    • Yay! Glad to “read” your voice! Peoples loves the Renaissance. Unfortunately, the Renaissance never loved me. But wow, that seems like a lot of applications! But even my little job that I got, I think the year I applied there were like 120 applications, so I guess that’s the perils of the market for those on the search committees! Good luck! Talk to you soon!

  2. By now, you should be done with your triumvirate of papers and feeling set for the day. We need to catch up! Happy to read this since it proves that you do enjoy teaching. There is a motive to stay in the profession for you, then. Not so happy to read what you allude to in the end of the post. Let’s talk soon. Meanwhile, I’ve been AWOL because if you can believe this, I’m combing through the 250 applications we got for the Early Modern English search. 250. Is the Renaissance that great? 😉

  3. By now, you should be done with your triumvirate of papers and feeling set for the day. We need to catch up! Happy to read this since it proves that you do enjoy teaching. There is a motive to stay in the profession for you, then. Not so happy to read what you allude to in the end of the post. Let’s talk soon. Meanwhile, I’ve been AWOL because if you can believe this, I’m combing through the 250 applications we got for the Early Modern English search. 250. Is the Renaissance that great? 😉

  4. By now, you should be done with your triumvirate of papers and feeling set for the day. We need to catch up! Happy to read this since it proves that you do enjoy teaching. There is a motive to stay in the profession for you, then. Not so happy to read what you allude to in the end of the post. Let’s talk soon. Meanwhile, I’ve been AWOL because if you can believe this, I’m combing through the 250 applications we got for the Early Modern English search. 250. Is the Renaissance that great? 😉

Leave a Reply

