Grumblings

Standard

 With the exception of last night’s Halloween party, the weekend sucked. I was able to get nothing done. First, on Friday as we were attempting to go to the gym, the shifter cable of the car broke. Nice. We then spent the entire effing day trying to rent a car. We do not have a major credit card. We do not want one. Every time we have had one, it has not been used for emergencies but rather for stupid shit that we thought were necessities and just end up in trouble. One rental car company, from which we’d been able to rent before, a company whose name begins with an "E" and last syllable rhymes with "ties"  told us what we needed to bring in order to be able to rent with a debit card. I don’t understand the difference between freezing the funds on a credit card and freezing the funds on the debit card. It seems like one would prefer a debit card because a person could simply decided never to pay the credit card bill whereas with the debit card, the company would immediately get their money. So whatever though. We bring what we need. Yeah, they said after we got there (they picked us up–if we had spend $ on a cab, I would have been livid) that they only rent to people with a driver’s license from Village Town state. Really? So like out of towners can’t rent cars from you? So if we were tourists with the info you requested we would be shit out of luck? Eff you car company. Thanks for making us wait for six hours to come pick us up only to find out you’re not going to rent to us. We wasted a whole fucking day on you. Had we known this, we would have gone to someone else, had a car by noon, been able to get the part we needed for the fucking broken car and had it fixed this weekend. I will NEVER rent from this place again, even if it costs me more to go somewhere else. Their competitor, whose name starts with an "H"  thought that not being able to rent a car unless you had a license for the state that you were trying to rent a car in was a joke and thought we were from a radio station playing a prank and didn’t understand why we would ask that and why we would ask is a debit card with major credit card company logo was okay. Like that’s how absurd the other company was. We had to take a cab to rent the car, but they were great. No problem with our Home City DL, no problem with the debit card. But by the time we actually got a car, the dealership’s service stations were closed (we can only get the part from the dealer), and when we found a dealer on Saturday that had the part in stock, the service part closed at 12. Nice. 

We got a shit ton of errands run on Saturday morning and finished them by about 11:30. That was nice, but still. I felt awful all day Saturday. I did decide to quit taking the pill, and though Saturday was only the second day off, my system is just completely out of whack. Thank god though that The J has an understanding of hormones and stuff because he’s just been great with the crazy mania mood swings these past few days. The past week actually. I’m all "woo-hoo!! Everything is sooooo great and wonderful! I love life" one minute and then 30 seconds later I’m crying. If effing sucks. Hopefully soon I’ll even out though. 

I think Miss T might have another bladder infection. Or infection of some kind. I can’t tell yet. But we can’t take her to the vet until we get the car fixed because there’s a $125 minimum fee if they see *any* pet hair anywhere in the rental car. And it’s already going to cost that much for a vet visit, so unless it actually is an infection, she might have to wait a day or two. I know that’s mean, but she doesn’t seem to be sick really. I just saw what might be blood in her urine, but it’s obviously not hardly anything if I can’t actually tell, so I’m a terrible person for not taking her right away, but there are no other signs–she doesn’t pee any more than usual; she doesn’t drink any more than usual. Both of them had upset stomachs yesterday, so that makes it harder. Anyway, The J says she’s fine and not to freak out, so I’m trying.

The smoke detector in the hallway needs a new battery. It’s in the stairwell. There’s supposed to be a 24 maintenance crew, but I don’t have their number. Why do smoke detectors always need new batteries in the middle of the night? NOthing drives me crazier faster than a beeping smoke detector. Nothing I tell you!! I’ve been sitting in my apartment with ear plugs in since I got up this morning which is not that comfortable at all! Not at all I tell you!

The J’s father is under the impression that we will be there for Thanksgiving because he left two messages last night in which he seemed annoyed on my message that neither one of us answered the phone (uh, it’s halloween. Did it not occur to you that we might be out?) and that he needs to know our Thanksgiving plans so that he can plan accordingly. Um, we said we’d be in for Christmas. Not Thanksgiving. It’s no big deal really, but I’m just annoyed by his annoyance with us.

I still have a stack of papers to grade and another set of essays coming in on Wednesday and a set of little papers coming in on Wednesday as well. Not to mention the frosh papers that were abysmal that I need to go back through and comment on so I can give those back in a couple of weeks. I wanted to spend Friday grading, but noooooo, stupid car. Stupid rental company giving us the runaround. I mean I was home, but that shit took up a lot of emotional energy and I couldn’t do shit. 

Oh well. I guess I need to get to what I need to read for today’s class and finish that up and start some other reading so I can try to break even and not be so far behind Wednesday morning. Sorry for the negativity and grumbling. Here’s hoping we all have a good week!

8 responses »

    • you know Sis, that damn thing beeped for over 5 hours!! Even after they changed the battery! They finally just took the whole damn thing apart. I was seriously so close to losing it. It is straight up torture.

    • you know Sis, that damn thing beeped for over 5 hours!! Even after they changed the battery! They finally just took the whole damn thing apart. I was seriously so close to losing it. It is straight up torture.

    • you know Sis, that damn thing beeped for over 5 hours!! Even after they changed the battery! They finally just took the whole damn thing apart. I was seriously so close to losing it. It is straight up torture.

    • you know Sis, that damn thing beeped for over 5 hours!! Even after they changed the battery! They finally just took the whole damn thing apart. I was seriously so close to losing it. It is straight up torture.

Leave a Reply

