Head Still Above Water

Standard

 My froshes were none too happy when I told them that I was holding on to their papers. I fee like, on the one hand, it was sort of a cop-out rather than trying at this point to undo the mistakes here, which seem monumental. On the other hand, I thought it would benefit them more (and be easier) to work backwards. Turns out their midterms were pretty good. They actually do know what a thesis statement is, and they do know how to support it. However, they seem to only know how to support with real world examples or examples from their lives. I think this has to do with probably four plus years of "teaching to the exam," in this case, the exam being the written placement exam. What they can’t do is write a thesis statement and support it with evidence when a text is involved. And what they *really* can’t do is make an argument when secondary sources are involved. Their idea of an argument when a text of any kind is involved is "I agree with" or "I disagree with."  And here it is November almost and I’m going back to square one. So, in an attempt at self-preservation, I sadly, slightly inflated the grades on the in class exams. My way of consoling myself here is that none of them failed, so I wasn’t giving someone a passing grade who didn’t deserve it. And it was mostly those who were borderline, I bumped them up for the sake of morale and future cooperation from them. I do feel a little dirty. I hate anything that smells of politics. But, I also didn’t need a parade of students in my boss’s office complaining about me. I’ve made it this far this semester (knock wood) without major issue. I’d like to keep it that way.

I also managed to finagle my way out of two freshman classes next semester. Last year since I had such a horrible experience with the writing about lit classes, I thought the frosh classes would be a) easier and b) less labor intensive regarding prep (their readings are like 5-10 pages, but usually less than 5. Sad, right?). I thought it’d be the lesser of two evils as far as comp is concerned. No. Now that I know how to teach the writing about lit classes, while the readings may be longer, I think since the class could be designed around my field and side interests, it might be better for me. Plus, I’m just not great at teaching freshman. I’m really not. So, I opted for three preps again next semester rather than two preps with two freshman classes. I think my sanity this semester has been preserved better because I only have one freshman class. And then next year, no freshman. So we’ll see how that goes.

Of course I still haven’t figured out how to work my own stuff into my schedule yet, BUT, part of that is because I still spend a lot of time in the evenings with The J. Last night I realized I watched four hours of t.v., which was four hours of reading I could have done which means that there would have been other things I could have worked on this morning. But he’s only been home a month. LIke right at a month. And next semester he should be in school, too, so in a couple of months, our evenings will be spent working together, not lounging (which means I’m going to have to start pulling my weight around here again with the housework).  So for now, I’m going to enjoy this and relax with him while I can. We’ll never be in this position again probably. In a way, I hope not because if he’s ever got this much time off again, it will mean one of two things: a) he’s unemployed (or I am), or b) he’s just come back from another deployment, and that’s not going to be cool at all. And by the time he’s done with school, we could have a kid or two crawling around, so I do want to just enjoy us right now.

I have to say though, I’ve been exhausted lately. Really since the marathon. Perhaps I’m still recovering from it. Thank god we get next Tuesday off so I can catch up on some stuff. I need to work like a madwoman tonight (and this morning for that matter I suppose) so that I can attempt, again, to get ahead of things. Yesterday I was so tired I thought I would collapse. This morning I feel a bit better than I did yesterday morning, so I need to get some reading done so I can go for a run. I’m slowly building my workout frequency back up here and my milage. We did five miles on Monday, and I ran the last one so hard I almost threw up. Not that smart. But the same thing sorta happened yesterday. I wasn’t trying to workout hard, and I don’t think my heart rate got above 160, but I felt the same way afterward. When I was in my 20s, it was so easy to drop weight by running. I could easily lose 10-12 pounds in six weeks. Now, running just makes me hungry, so it’s so much harder because even though my metabolism seems to be revving up, it’s offset by the fact that I’m starving after my run, even if it’s just three or four miles. That’s frustrating. But I know that wing craving isn’t doing me any favors either (which, I think after last night, I may have finally satisfied that craving. I should be able to leave the wings alone for now, fingers crossed). But I also need to think about permanent changes, not just short term I need to get this weight off before the next marathon changes. I’m fairly fit. I just have diet problems.

Well, I need to get what reading in I can in the next couple of hours so I can go for a run later. Crap, and I’ve got to catch up on some administrative stuff, too. I’ll do that now.

8 responses »

    • Oh, they did an in-class essay. I gave them a choice of two prompts that were related to the readings and voila. They’ll do the same thing for their final. We have to do at least one in-class essay for a grade for the comp classes because that’s part of what they have to learn how to write, essay exams.

    • Oh, they did an in-class essay. I gave them a choice of two prompts that were related to the readings and voila. They’ll do the same thing for their final. We have to do at least one in-class essay for a grade for the comp classes because that’s part of what they have to learn how to write, essay exams.

    • Oh, they did an in-class essay. I gave them a choice of two prompts that were related to the readings and voila. They’ll do the same thing for their final. We have to do at least one in-class essay for a grade for the comp classes because that’s part of what they have to learn how to write, essay exams.

    • Oh, they did an in-class essay. I gave them a choice of two prompts that were related to the readings and voila. They’ll do the same thing for their final. We have to do at least one in-class essay for a grade for the comp classes because that’s part of what they have to learn how to write, essay exams.

Leave a Reply

