Happy Birthday Miss T!

Standard

 Today is The Divine Miss T’s 13th Birthday!! My old girl is 13!! I can’t believe it.

Isn’t she just the most adorable old girl? The story of my Miss T is that she was abandoned at 4 weeks old with her litter mate. I wish I had her puppy pictures scanned into the computer because when she was a puppy, she looked like Eddie Munster–a solid black head with a widow’s peak–you can still sorta see it. She was adorable. Everyone in the apartment complex loved her, but the pet deposit for animals was $250 which was more than 1/2 a month’s rent. And it was winter. So we all fed her and played with her and took care of her. When I came home from midnight mass on Christmas Eve and it was snowing, she was on my doorstep waiting for us to come home. I wanted to bring her in so badly, but my now ex-husband said no, that if we let her in, she’d come back every night wanting to be let in. It broke my heart. 1 am in the snow, waiting for me. I was heart broken. Then barely a week later, we were hanging out on the porch and she came over. I mixed up a bunch of leftovers (ham, bread, some milk) for her. She ate have the container, sat back, burped, and finished the rest. Then she went over to the ex and fell asleep in his arms. Thank god because he couldn’t bear the thought of giving her up at that moment. It was the kindest moment he ever had. He looked down, saw her sleeping contentedly, and said, "all right, go to Mal-Wart and get her a bed, shampoo, and food. We’ll figure out the pet deposit later." The genius working behind the counter said, "oh are you getting a dog?" Yeah, what was your first clue?" Then he proceeded to tell me about this dog in his apartment complex that was so adorable that he and his roommate really wanted to adopt but the pet fee was $250. I said, "wait, do you live There?" "Why yes!" I said, "that’s the dog! We’re taking her!" He said, "oh, I’m so happy that she’s finally getting a good home." 

And so she has been with me ever since. She has been the one stable and true thing in my life for the past 13 years. Without her, I would not have survived this last decade. She’s endured break ups, moves across the country, drives across the country, two grad degrees, a divorce,  a marriage, job changes, a deployment,  countless costume changes, and my mood swings and depression. She’s survived liver and kidney failure. She is my love and my life. My girl that I adore for all time. Happy Birthday baby girl! I love you so much!!

 

8 responses »

  1. I love that story – Happy Birthday Miss T! When my husband told me ‘it’s me or the dog’ – I chose the dog without hesitation. He was stunned, but she was my salvation, as you’ve said of Miss T. And that decision? So the right one. He hung around for another 8 years, but had always been abusive. So… I have never ever regretted my girl. She’s been gone 25 years now, and I still dream about her, still miss her. Thinking about her makes me choke on tears, and then shed them in the necks of my present pups.
    Dogs are the best.
    Belle

  2. I love that story – Happy Birthday Miss T! When my husband told me ‘it’s me or the dog’ – I chose the dog without hesitation. He was stunned, but she was my salvation, as you’ve said of Miss T. And that decision? So the right one. He hung around for another 8 years, but had always been abusive. So… I have never ever regretted my girl. She’s been gone 25 years now, and I still dream about her, still miss her. Thinking about her makes me choke on tears, and then shed them in the necks of my present pups.

    Dogs are the best.

    Belle

  3. I love that story – Happy Birthday Miss T! When my husband told me ‘it’s me or the dog’ – I chose the dog without hesitation. He was stunned, but she was my salvation, as you’ve said of Miss T. And that decision? So the right one. He hung around for another 8 years, but had always been abusive. So… I have never ever regretted my girl. She’s been gone 25 years now, and I still dream about her, still miss her. Thinking about her makes me choke on tears, and then shed them in the necks of my present pups.

    Dogs are the best.

    Belle

  4. I love that story – Happy Birthday Miss T! When my husband told me ‘it’s me or the dog’ – I chose the dog without hesitation. He was stunned, but she was my salvation, as you’ve said of Miss T. And that decision? So the right one. He hung around for another 8 years, but had always been abusive. So… I have never ever regretted my girl. She’s been gone 25 years now, and I still dream about her, still miss her. Thinking about her makes me choke on tears, and then shed them in the necks of my present pups.

    Dogs are the best.

    Belle

  5. Belle, what a nice memory about your pup. I would have, without hesitation, had I been given the choice, chosen Miss T over my ex. (As it was, I choose finishing grad school over him, and he knew I would have taken him to court in a custody battle over her. I eventually ended up with both dogs, one who has long since passed–spleen cancer. Sad).
    So here’s to many more years together with our current four legged loved ones and fond memories of ones passed.

  6. Belle, what a nice memory about your pup. I would have, without hesitation, had I been given the choice, chosen Miss T over my ex. (As it was, I choose finishing grad school over him, and he knew I would have taken him to court in a custody battle over her. I eventually ended up with both dogs, one who has long since passed–spleen cancer. Sad).

    So here’s to many more years together with our current four legged loved ones and fond memories of ones passed.

  7. Belle, what a nice memory about your pup. I would have, without hesitation, had I been given the choice, chosen Miss T over my ex. (As it was, I choose finishing grad school over him, and he knew I would have taken him to court in a custody battle over her. I eventually ended up with both dogs, one who has long since passed–spleen cancer. Sad).

    So here’s to many more years together with our current four legged loved ones and fond memories of ones passed.

  8. Belle, what a nice memory about your pup. I would have, without hesitation, had I been given the choice, chosen Miss T over my ex. (As it was, I choose finishing grad school over him, and he knew I would have taken him to court in a custody battle over her. I eventually ended up with both dogs, one who has long since passed–spleen cancer. Sad).

    So here’s to many more years together with our current four legged loved ones and fond memories of ones passed.

Leave a Reply

