Coming Up For Air

Standard

Geez Louise! I should be grading right now. Midterm grades are due tomorrow morning. I’ve been sitting on drafts for a week and a half now. My trainer asked me "well why? What have you been doing?" Uh, everything else for school *but* grading! While I’ve read The Great Sock Novel numerous times, it still takes a lot of energy to teach it. Some of the students are trying–some are just overwhelmed by it, so I bear the brunt of the conversation, and I know for most of them, the extent of their reading it has to do with the passages that I read in class. They are reading some of it, but I don’t think that they are getting all the way through each class’s readings. Oddly, I’m not very discouraged by this. Last year it upset me. This year, not really. I know that some of them are trying and are exhausted. I’m exhausted, too, and sorta winging it myself. The other classes are going fine, too. Well, nearly everyone but about five people failed the lit theory exam, but I almost expected it, so there you go. But they had a chance to go back and look up the correct answers for half credit. So more work for me, too. Oh well. It’s fine.

The froshes, they’re okay. They want their drafts back. And of course I always think I’m like super woman when I do the syllabus and schedule the drafts and the final draft a week apart because I think I’m going to sit down and grade all those drafts in a day and a half. I don’t know what goes through my head sometimes. I need to remember that for next semester when I have my two writing classes again. Sheesh. Seriously, I just don’t know what I was thinking. In any case, at some point this morning, when I’m done with this entry, I’m going to have to sit down and plow through these drafts.

I’ve had a serious wing craving lately. Ever since we watched 9 to 5 and they were eating wings, I have had to have wings at least once a week for the last month. It’s serious. I like can’t get enough. I think I’m even going to order wings for The J’s welcome home party tomorrow night.

And that’s the other thing. Of course I’m waiting until tomorrow to clean everything for the party. I have my work cut out for me. Tonight is a concert at school, and if I didn’t have meetings all day, I could get stuff done this afternoon before the show, but sigh, that’s not going to happen either. It’s cool. I just really really need to learn some time management skills here which is why my blogging has been scarce of late–my mornings are all about catching up so I can stay on track. Occasionally we make it out for a run, but I’ve been trying to really make time for my working out. I sleep better on the nights when I workout in the morning; I have more energy during the day. So I’m trying to put myself first before my teaching which of course makes me feel bad and selfish, but you know, I’ve got to figure out some of this stuff for myself here and how to do this. And marathon training starts up again in about a month. (This time I think it will be easier because a) I’ve run a marathon now, and b) The J is my training partner so that will help for the looooooong runs). For now though, while we can, my trainer really wants me to hit the weights. So I’ve got to get three weight workout in a week, which means going to the gym three times a week, which isn’t that bad because my weight workouts are only about 30 minutes with about 10 minutes of abs and about 30 minutes of cardio, so it’s not that time consuming. It’s just a matter of doing it, like my grading.

Tuesday was my talk on favorite novelist and a 19th century president. It was okay. Again, poor time management meant that I finished the talk about 30 minutes before I had to give it which means no time for a run through and there was nary a transition in the paper. It was really a bunch of ideas thrown together in prose form that I hoped would make a little bit of sense. Something about the presence of my boss and the provost though really threw me off because I’m normally a great presenter (it’s usually one of the things I do very very well). I was so nervous. I was fidgety; I tripped over words. I read waaaaaay too fast. There were 12 people in this huge room. I didn’t think it was very good. I told one of my colleagues that my boss’s presence made me super nervous (the same thing happened during my observation–I was so stiff and basically frozen while he was in there), and I think she told him because I got a very nice email from him last night telling me what a nice talk it was and he liked my readings of the poems and that I should consider really working on it for a big conference in May. That was nice of him. I could tell that the Provost would have rather been getting his teeth cleaned because I think he was there because he had to be. Oh well. The J came and I got to introduce him around to people, so that was nice, too. At least that’s over.

Oh, my fan? Yeah, I’m  on ze’s shit list. I hadn’t seen hir in a while which is good because now I don’t have to be abrasive when I see hir because I don’t have to worry about being "encouraging," so I ran into hir at the bookstore and I said, "hey, how are you?" with a nice smile on my face. Reply, "uh-huh, yeah." So I guess that ordeal is now over. One less thing to worry about and/or agonize over.

Can I say again, and I know you might be sick of hearing about this, but I’m so happy that The J is home. I’m finally out of "it feels like he’s visiting" mode and into "hey, I’m married and my husband is here for good" mode. It’s so nice. I love that when I come home from campus he’s here or that he drives me to school and picks me up sometimes. I love that he can join me and my friends when we go out. I love not eating dinner alone. I love that we have breakfast, lunch, and dinner together. I love that I get to cook for him and that he cooks for me. I actually am loving spending Sundays watching football all day! Yes, I sit on the couch and watch at least two games with him just about every Sunday! We even have team jerseys. The mutts even have team jerseys! We take Sunday off from our runs or work outs and watch football and drink beer and do laundry during half-time. I just can’t even describe how much better I feel now that he’s home. People keep telling me, too, how happy I look, how relaxed I look. (Is that too saccharine? Do you all have cavities now? I’m sorry). I’m just so happy and thankful that he’s home.

I guess on that note, I should go do something productive in the way of working on the drafts that have been in my possession for too long.

 

16 responses »

  1. I’m jealous! I want a partner too… I’m sure it would help with the work-life balance stuff. Certainly sounds like it’s doing a great job for you! Wonder if I could get one prescribed?? 🙂

  2. I’m jealous! I want a partner too… I’m sure it would help with the work-life balance stuff. Certainly sounds like it’s doing a great job for you! Wonder if I could get one prescribed?? 🙂

  3. I’m jealous! I want a partner too… I’m sure it would help with the work-life balance stuff. Certainly sounds like it’s doing a great job for you! Wonder if I could get one prescribed?? 🙂

  4. I’m jealous! I want a partner too… I’m sure it would help with the work-life balance stuff. Certainly sounds like it’s doing a great job for you! Wonder if I could get one prescribed?? 🙂

  5. I wish I could share my fortune with you guys regarding the J. It’s made things tremendously easier. Jane B, I would totally check into getting one prescribed. It should be on all insurance plans!
    Sis, why don’t I just share the wings with you? 🙂

  6. I wish I could share my fortune with you guys regarding the J. It’s made things tremendously easier. Jane B, I would totally check into getting one prescribed. It should be on all insurance plans!

    Sis, why don’t I just share the wings with you? 🙂

  7. I wish I could share my fortune with you guys regarding the J. It’s made things tremendously easier. Jane B, I would totally check into getting one prescribed. It should be on all insurance plans!

    Sis, why don’t I just share the wings with you? 🙂

  8. I wish I could share my fortune with you guys regarding the J. It’s made things tremendously easier. Jane B, I would totally check into getting one prescribed. It should be on all insurance plans!

    Sis, why don’t I just share the wings with you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

