The Snerms

Standard

What follows is a litany of things that are pissing me off right now. Read at your own risk. Also, I apologize for the massive negativity, but I just can’t really think right now.

(And I think I’m stealing the Snerms from Belle. If I’ve miscredited, I’m sorry.)

I am exceptionally grumpy this morning. I’m sure it’s a bit of PMS thrown into the mix, but I need to do a brain dump here because it’s interfering with my ability to concentrate on what I need to finish prepping for class this afternoon.

Which is one of the reasons that I’m grumpy–that I have done it again, and this stuff was not done last night.

I had a magnificently crappy run yesterday, as I noted in the updated to do list yesterday. While I had wine early Saturday night, I should not have had any at all. I had too much caffeine on Sunday morning, so I think hydration was a major issue. And I had taken medicine for both my headache and my sinus issues. On top of the fact that I’ve been only cross-training for the last month, and not very dutifully at that, my run sucked ass. Probably the worst run of my life–even worse than the time that I fell and broke my arm during a training run. So part of the reason I got nothing done yesterday afternoon was that I was recovering from my horrible and barely ran 12 miler (it should have been 20, but I barely made the 12–I think I walked the last 3 miles; that’s how bad it was).  Furthermore, the marathon is in three weeks and I’m seriously wondering how I’m going to do this as my longest run has only been 16 miles. Anyway, I got home and I was sick. I sat with an ice pack on my head for about an hour because it was the quickest way I could find to cool me off and make the nausea go away. It sucked. So I laid on the couch for about five hours unable to do much.

I couldn’t sleep last night at all. I think I got about 5.5 hours, so I’m sure that’s a factor, too.

I’ve only had one cup of coffee because I was hoping to run later this morning. That won’t happen, but I shouldn’t have any more coffee as I’ve been struggling with hydration issues.

My muscles right around my knees are screaming at me this morning. And the top of my foot hurts. It feels like a stress fracture, but I’m hoping it’s just a sore muscle. In any case, I think after class tomorrow I’m going to go get new running shoes. They are three months old with some heavy milage on them. The treads aren’t worn, but if my foot is hurting like this after only 12 miles, then I think it’s time. I usually go by how my body feels after a run to determine when the shoes need to be replaced. So there’s that.

Which means that I probably won’t run this morning because I don’t want to turn sore muscles into an injury three weeks out.

I think I’m really grumpy, too, that The J is going to be in Home City tonight, and everyone gets to see him but me. I’m pissed at the military for not having had a specific date for them to return a month ago because I could have made plans. But it’s hard to plan for "anytime between this day and that day." Grrrrrr. Not to mention that they have not made his travel arrangements for him to get from Home City to Village Town yet. So yeah, while I’m happy that he’s home and out of harm’s way, to throw another cliche’ in the mix, he’s so close but so far away, and this makes me just grumpy and sad that I still have to wait a week? two weeks? Please, while I know your hearts would be in the right place by consoling me that at least he’s not in danger and that he’ll be here soon, I don’t want to hear it. I know these things, but it doesn’t make me any less grumpy that I can’t actually welcome him home because there was no way for me to plan for it especially at the start of the semester. It just fucking sucks. I know I said I was happy and relieved just for him to be out of there and home, but that was before today when the reality set in that I won’t get to actually welcome him off the bus with the rest of his family. And his birthday is tomorrow, too, and he’s getting two birthday celebrations, neither of which I’ll be able to attend. Again, I think PMS is making all of this much worse, plus the crappy run yesterday, but if I could call in sick to work today, I totally fucking would. 

Plus, I’m tired of dealing with people in my life who are making my life miserable. I just wish everything would blow up for good and then dissipate into the atmosphere never to be seen or heard from again. 

I think I just need a good cry. Or a good run. But neither of those will happen today.

In any case, I know this was just like over the top negative, but I do feel better for the rant, and I think I might be able to finish some prep work up now. Plus, I have about an hour’s worth of office hours in which to do the annoying tasks I don’t really want to do at home here. 

Okay, thanks for listening. Sorry for being a grumpy bitch. However, isn’t the grumpy mood goat kinda cute? I like seriously can’t remain that grumpy looking at him. He makes me chuckle.

4 responses »

  1. You are so hard on yourself. Yeah, the run is a goal you’ve set, but obviously there are things that get the in way of our plans. Rationally, you’re expecting too much too soon. Emotionally, you’re in a bad spot (you have been to the doc, right? Right?). Physically, you’re not ready to take on the full marathon. That’s cool. You can do a half, right? And that’s great, give yourself credit.
    Take a deep breath (or twelve) and step outside of yourself for a while. Nobody said it’s easy, but only you said you had to do any of this stuff. New rule: be kind to Nola.

  2. You are so hard on yourself. Yeah, the run is a goal you’ve set, but obviously there are things that get the in way of our plans. Rationally, you’re expecting too much too soon. Emotionally, you’re in a bad spot (you have been to the doc, right? Right?). Physically, you’re not ready to take on the full marathon. That’s cool. You can do a half, right? And that’s great, give yourself credit.

    Take a deep breath (or twelve) and step outside of yourself for a while. Nobody said it’s easy, but only you said you had to do any of this stuff. New rule: be kind to Nola.

  3. You are so hard on yourself. Yeah, the run is a goal you’ve set, but obviously there are things that get the in way of our plans. Rationally, you’re expecting too much too soon. Emotionally, you’re in a bad spot (you have been to the doc, right? Right?). Physically, you’re not ready to take on the full marathon. That’s cool. You can do a half, right? And that’s great, give yourself credit.

    Take a deep breath (or twelve) and step outside of yourself for a while. Nobody said it’s easy, but only you said you had to do any of this stuff. New rule: be kind to Nola.

  4. You are so hard on yourself. Yeah, the run is a goal you’ve set, but obviously there are things that get the in way of our plans. Rationally, you’re expecting too much too soon. Emotionally, you’re in a bad spot (you have been to the doc, right? Right?). Physically, you’re not ready to take on the full marathon. That’s cool. You can do a half, right? And that’s great, give yourself credit.

    Take a deep breath (or twelve) and step outside of yourself for a while. Nobody said it’s easy, but only you said you had to do any of this stuff. New rule: be kind to Nola.

Leave a Reply

