Standard

 While I got nothing accomplished related to school yesterday, I did manage to finally get to the storage unit to get all of the stuff The J sent home from Afghanistan because it was taking up a lot of floor space, and not only was it taking up a bunch of room, but it also made it hard to clean. So that’s out. I met a very nice man at the storage unit who was impressed with my strength of being able to lift footlockers and boxes at an upward angle out of the truck onto the receiving dock. Really, the footlockers weren’t that heavy. It was more of a pain getting them down two flights of stairs than from the truck to the dock. So he gave me brief histories of his life, the town, his favorite authors (upon finding out what I do), tried to correct me about a couple of things, which  was annoying, but I didn’t feel like getting into it. But whatever. I spent way more money at Target than I really could have afforded; however, I bought an upright deep cleaning quick steam vacuum because we’ve had some pet issues in the last year. Things were fine until Miss T got sick one night and had diarrhea. That was it. Once that was in the carpet, it was a free for all. I’ve scrubbed and used all manner of cleaners, but at some point there needs to be a deep cleaning. There are stains. I thought I had gotten a lot of it up with the little spot bot (which is great for smaller issues), but the spot by the door is just pet and dirt stained. Yikes, the deep cleaner, um yeah, gross. I’m going to go over the area again. Although I’m hoping that when we move into a house that that house will have hardwood floors, I’m assuming we’ll have area rugs, so this thing will be good for cleaning that, too.

Why don’t rent a steam cleaner? A) I don’t want to work on a "rent" timeline; B) I like having my own equipment; C) I don’t want to lug something heavy up the stairs; D) the one we rented for the house was great, but two weeks later, all the stains seeped back through, which I had heard might happen if there are serious issues (which there are with the house carpet–it needs to go away); however, I’m hoping with my own machine, we can do maintenance cleans that will keep that from happening because I’d rather spend $80 on a machine than get saddled with a bill when I move out. But I think it’s a good thing to have. Anyway…

I did this because I’m trying to make up for the fact that the apartment, while in much better shape than June, was not where I wanted it when the The J came for his leave, I want to make his homecoming extra nice. This might involve a trip to the Container Store, although I’m not sure I’m going to attempt installing the cabinet roll-out drawer (which are amazing things, buy the way. It’s so much easier to get to my pots and pans).

Since it looks like the bottom is about to fall out, I will have to defer the run until tomorrow. Which is fine because yesterday I was struck with a wicked stomachache. I think it’s nerves about The J coming home. It’s nerves about a former friend (whom you may remember–she made a pass at The J at the wedding; she’s the one who thought she was going to live in the house and was telling me what colors she wanted it painted, etc) trying to see him. I feel bad because I really don’t want to be *that* wife who is like, "no, you can’t see her" because they had been friends for a while, but while I trust The J wholeheartedly, I do not trust her. And she’ll all act like nothing has happened and probably at first be on her best behavior so she can weasel her way back into our lives, and then it will start all over again, and that’s the issue. I don’t want her in our lives. But I felt bad because I asked him last night when he called, and he said, "I couldn’t do that. I would feel way too guilty if I saw her" which I think is sweet because he knows how much seeing her would hurt me, but it says to me, too, that he still feels a tie of friendship, so I feel conflicted about it, but I really hate her. I know hate is such a bad thing, but I truly do hate her. Although I would do the same for him. I hate, too, that she causes me way more anxiety than she should. 

Anyway, I have a decent to do list then today, the most important of which is the thing I do not need to do, and that’s turn on the PS3 and hit that Netflix instant play. So the to do in no particular order:

  • Clean the kitchen
  • Go to the Farmer’s Market
  • Get all the stuff from the Farmer’s Market prepped and ready for the week
  • Steam the carpet again in the den
  • Clean the office area
  • Vacuum and steam clean the office area carpet
  • Clean the bathroom
  • Wrap The J’s birthday presents so they are ready when he gets here
  • Take out the recycling
  • Read and prep the part of the novel I’m teaching M & W  Well, I got about half of it done
  • Get the white boards up so I can get organized with research and other projects
  • Make good dinner  The dough is rising!
  • Laundry

For Sunday:

  • Run 20  Yeah, I did about everything a person could do to ensure that the run went poorly. About mile six I started to feel bad; by mile 9 I had completely fallen apart. I hobbled three miles back to my car. I barely made 12 miles. I’m really discouraged, but I’ll try again next week.
  • Finish what did not get done Saturday  
  • Cook stuff for the week so I don’t resort to eating out all week after long days at work  Well, stuff is prepped. 
  • Read and prep chapter for M & W intro to theory class I’ll do that Monday a.m.
  • Start thinking about talk on Civil War President and Famous Author (which yeah, my chair asked me to do the talk on a general topic and has picked the specific topic for me, but I guess that makes it easier because I didn’t know what I was really going to do)  Um, I thought about the class I might be teaching next Fall instead

It’s a lot of stuff, but I don’t think it’s too unmanageable. It’s definitely manageable if I don’t turn on the PS3 during the day. We’ll see!

4 responses »

  1. that’s a lotta list! Go go go you!
    My list for today looks similar, except really it’s grade grade grade followed by get my job shit together. Sigh. I think I’d rather go to the farmer’s market for you. Or maybe even clean up pet poop.
    Have fun when the J is back!

  2. that’s a lotta list! Go go go you!

    My list for today looks similar, except really it’s grade grade grade followed by get my job shit together. Sigh. I think I’d rather go to the farmer’s market for you. Or maybe even clean up pet poop.

    Have fun when the J is back!

  3. that’s a lotta list! Go go go you!

    My list for today looks similar, except really it’s grade grade grade followed by get my job shit together. Sigh. I think I’d rather go to the farmer’s market for you. Or maybe even clean up pet poop.

    Have fun when the J is back!

  4. that’s a lotta list! Go go go you!

    My list for today looks similar, except really it’s grade grade grade followed by get my job shit together. Sigh. I think I’d rather go to the farmer’s market for you. Or maybe even clean up pet poop.

    Have fun when the J is back!

Leave a Reply

